April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Less than Shadows

by Cosine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A platformer game ... without the platforms. Navigate by the shadows casted on the floor. AD to move Left and Right, W to jump. It uses minimalist style art, uses less of a primary game concept (graphics) and uses minimalist music (repeated themes created by the sound effects).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#690Humor2.05
#923Innovation2.62
#993Audio1.82
#1165Mood2.12
#1178Theme2.74
#1258Fun1.97
#1266Graphics1.97
#1290Overall2.21

Comments

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I like the idea, I think it could have been executed a bit better, but its a nice game:)

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

The movement is a little clunky, but the concept is good.

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Neat idea, and great to play something finished :) For me, the controls felt to slippery and fast, like Mario in the ice world. It made it quite hard

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I like the little leaps of faith trying to find the next block. haha

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I like the idea and once I got the hang of it it was pretty fun, but I think the background is a little too distracting. Covered up some of the dialogue too.

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Ice physics!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Don't know if it's just my computer, but I sometimes experience extreme slow-down in the middle of a jump making things difficult. Interesting take on the theme, though!

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I like the concept but the controls could use some work. I slid off the end of platforms multiple times.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Lovely idea! A bit hard to figure out, though. Also doesn't help that the first move you makes catapults you out of the gameworld

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

It took me a minute to realize what the "shadows" were, and I found the controls a bit too unforgiving. Basing movements on shadows is an idea that could be very interesting if fleshed out.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I haven't understand how it works. Help please.

Wiering says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50pm

This could be fun if the controls were better.

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:38am

A good touch would be to make shadows change size based on depth of height. The background was a bit distracting - but nice work!

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Quine a nice game, probably too difficult for most people.

iossif says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:14pm

i like the general idea, but the controls made it very hard for me to experiment for a long time :(

May 3, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Interesting idea, but too much inertia makes it too difficult and frustrating.

hi-scor.es says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:33am

A faster respawn would make it awesome

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:45am

Liked the concept, though the movement felt a little bit touchy. Overall, good job!

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:08am

Interesting idea, but the controls were way too slippery and I ended up sliding off the platforms too often. If you are requiring such exact jumps, don't make the player slide so much.

manax says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:12am

The player starts a bit too high, hard to judge position when you're off-screen for most of the first several jumps. Agree with others, the controls are pretty unforgiving, and ground is too slippery.

Nice idea, loved the death splat (which is good, 'cause I died a LOT). Got frustrated and quit after about the 7th platform, so not very far into it...

rubna says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:16pm

The idea is OK, but there were some flaws in the execution. The controls were way too slippery, and on the first few blocks you jump out of the screen, wich makes it VERY hard to co-ordinate your jump. The respawn time could've also been lower. And I don't know if this is just me, but I encountered random lag sometimes.

This makes it a very frustrating game and it's hard for me to keep playing.

m64 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:50pm

The concept is very nice however I was struggling more with the imprecise controls then with the games theme.

ataxkt says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Decrease the death timeout and make the jumping a little slower and you've got a cool game! I found it frustrating to play for those reasons.

Spiridios says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:04am

I like the concept, but the controls are way too touchy.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:11pm

It's a fun game and I like the style. Very glad there were checkpoints.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]