April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OktumBoktum - A minimal adventure of a boy and his crazy pet

by imagnity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Online version works on good PC browsers like Chrome/Firefox, not on IE.

Zip file includes exe for Windows. Apk for Android. Jar for Mac and other platforms.

Android apk or apk qr code : http://tinyurl.com/ce23we2

This is my first Ludum Dare entry. Please bear with me. I never thought making graphics and music would take more time than coding. I used LibGDX framework. This has been really awesome! :)

Instructions: There's an in-game tutorial.

Installation: For windows, use the exe file. For Android, use the apk. For others, if you have java installed, use the jar file. Just open it with Java(TM).

I hope you like my effort. Will look forward to your feedback. Time to check out some games. Thank you.

Changed desktop control to use Left and Right arrows. Android version remains the same.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#80Fun3.69
#187Humor2.96
#212Overall3.55
#243Audio3.23
#300Mood3.20
#352Graphics3.33
#444Innovation3.26
#863Theme3.21

Comments

ann.peralta says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:07am

It is really addictive. Can't stop playing. :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

feels like a two player game? one controls the squirl (?) the other the girl? in any case: interesting game !

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35am

Nice, I wish it had keyboard controls though.

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

@Magnus: I know what you mean. Wanted to do it but was so sleepy and just slept at the end. Thanks. :)

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

@orangepascal Good idea actually for networking. Thank you.

Yozz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

Cool! Thanks for that game. I`ve seen it at the second day but had no time to play.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Cool! Agree that the desktop ports definitely needed keyboard controls though... Or maybe I just suck?

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

@Yozz - Man! Thank you. Appreciate it.

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

Cool runner game and great music! =D

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

@jhrrsn - I suck more. It really lacks the keyboard. Thanks. :)

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

Best game I played yet, very easy but entertaining mechanic (one might even say ... minimalist)

Good job

BTW for those on OSX10.8 in the terminal
type

cd [folder]
java -jar OktumBoktum_Desktop.jar to start

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

@GetFun - Thank you. :)

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

@jerrre - I cannot thank you enough. You made my day. And thank you for the OSX note. :)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

This is a hard game to play on pc, i'll be testing this on my cellphone. Nice game, I really like runners, and this one has a nice feature.

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

@ilovepixel: Thank you.

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Should enable GPU v-synch on the desktop. Neat little game otherwise, controls could have been adapted for desktop.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Nice android game !

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

@Mario - Enabling doesn't remove the stuttering unfortunately. Tested on Windows XP and Windows 8. Thanks.

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Very funny!

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Tricky game! I figured I'd quickly get used to the reversed control-scheme, but maybe not.

Overall, it's very well put together. Congratulations on your first entry!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:26am

I was JUST changing the download links to BitBucket... Try downloading my game again, if you want. I'll try yours in a bit :D

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:27am

Very amusing game!

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:54am

'Tis a fun and addictive little minigame. Well done!

alts says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:57am

Fun game. Impressive how just switching between two colors for two objects can be so tricky. I appreciated the keyboard controls. I wonder if switching the left-right mapping would have made the game any easier.

BigBlackBeard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:02am

Holy s***t, it's addictive !
Thank for this game !

SnoringFrog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:58am

Man, that was actually fairly challenging. I gave up once I finally broke 1000 (just barely...1004), but I really enjoyed this. Very nice entry.

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:45am

Very cute characters - I also like the backgrounds, reminds me of 'Pitfall' but more whimsical. Android version ran very nicely - although I never saw any dual-colour barriers ... maybe I just didn't do well enough to get up to that part.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Great runner game, very addictive!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Cooooool!

One of my early ideas was similar to this: You control some kind of ship and you have to change the colour of the screen to the colour of incoming balls (asteroids) to go through them.

It's beautifully done, the music is great and it is VERY addictive. My best so far is 1132.

mollymus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:54am

Wow! Stressing game! Very simple yet challenging mecahnic!

miro662 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:13am

nice game :)

GameRespect says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:34pm

One of the most fun game i've played in this LD. The aesthetic, audio and gameplay are all great, and it really got my brain confused at times. Good job dude!

kyru says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

This is a great game, good simple mechanic that leads to fun gameplay. Great audio too, nicely done all around.

Polar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Really nice game, although I feel it would be easier on Android - this game feels like it's lending itself towards a two-finger playstyle.

Beldarak says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:21am

Awesome music, great art style and clever gameplay. Any way to get that music?

bvanschooten says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Interesting game, nice music! I found cursor left for the right player and cursor right for the left player counterintuitive. The most successful strategy for me was just to keep both players in the same colour.

ramoncb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:35pm

really addictive and very challenging!

love the music and characters too =)

May 6, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Extra credit for LigGDX and the supported platforms :) Great work, simple but fun gameplay.

Fnkee says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Wow, this is game is addictive!! 1570 is my current high score, but I'll have to try again. Great music, sweet characters, and original concept. Good job on this!

juaxix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:22pm

1413 points :)
add more things, like interacting with the fruits of the trees, jumping, monsters, cat special skills, etc.
it looks good, keep up the good work ;)

imagnity says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:24pm

@juaxix: Thank you for the nice feedback. Will definitely expand it.

Thanks everyone for playing, rating, and for the nice reviews.

Zccc says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Woah, really hard but addictive :o

ataxkt says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Really fun! Bookmarked!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:49am

this is one of my favorite games from the dare -- nice entry -- gret use of theme and very addictive game

bentog says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:59pm

This is the kind of game that would make you rich if you added some features and sold it for $0.99. Awesome!

MinionStudios says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:01am

Sweet! The game is fun and pretty hard!

mildmojo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:23am

I got to 923 by changing their colors simultaneously. My brain couldn't handle left/right mapping to big/small characters. =)

The game animates nicely, and the difficulty ramps up at a good pace.

davidpeter says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:15pm

I feel like the controls were reversed, since the cat is in front of the guy running. Fun game, I like the ramp in difficulty :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]