April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Piet Mondrian: Minimal Techno Dance Simulator

by erdos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF IT DOESN'T RUN!

Dance to minimal techno music as Piet Mondrian, the better you do the more abstract you become!

I have a semi working game here, although there a few things that I would have liked to implement if I hadn't have run out of time:
- Faster, more notes each time you level up
- Penalties for missing notes
- More interesting note patterns (the engine allows for this but I ran out of time fixing bugs)
- Combo multipliers
- SFX
- More Piet animations
- Levels
- Looping sound (I don't know what happens when you get to the end of the track, I didn't have enough time to play it that far through!)
Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Humor4.09
#102Audio3.58
#215Theme3.92
#243Overall3.50
#254Graphics3.54
#282Mood3.22
#351Fun3.21
#650Innovation3.00
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

This is one of my top games for this LD. More varied and faster patterns would really put this up there.

erdos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49am

Oh wow thanks! Yeah it's such a shame, I had that stuff planned out, and the engine is ready to take different level data, it's just a matter modifying a json file. Hopefully next LD I'll have a better sense of what's possible within the time.

I'll do up a post-compo version with all the nice features :)

Salamander3 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

Huge smile on my face the entire time I played this. Kept playing even when the music stopped.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

Would be nice with more variation... very repetive.
It looks hilarious to see him dance though

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

Simply amazing.

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51am

Really fun game! Shame the music stops after a while, the Combo/Power readout is illegible (off the top of the screen) and it's written in Java rather than the Piet language itself; but nonetheless a great game!

erdos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

I'm promising an awesome post-mortem version on this, I'm so bummed I didn't have more time to spend on gameplay, thanks for you nice comments!

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Mondrian would be proud of you.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Great :D Shame the music just stops and it doesn't get tougher. Will be keeping an eye out for the post-compo version :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Full marks for fun. The seeds of something wonderful are planted here.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07am

As an avid rhythm gamer I was really disappointed when the hardest the game gets, is a new note every other beat. I want 1/6's and 1/2's :<

Good job though, hilarious idea! (:

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09am

The music is amazing! And as someone who has played stepmania for year I wish to play something a lot more difficult with this. Watching Mondrian owning the dance floor would be amazing!

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:07pm

The music doesn't loop. D: Mashing lots of buttons quickly was almost more fun than following the beat, movement-wise. Nice job on synchronising the letters to the beats all the way through. But the music needs to repeat! Dancing to nothing is weird.

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Haha, have you been looking at Wikipedia? Being Dutch I know his name is actually Mondriaan.
Very good!
Good graphics and the music is good (I heard it end though, so looping would be better).
The movements look funny. Levelups make the game more interesting.
Maybe a bit too easy but for Ludum Dare that is a good thing (my game is too hard, so most people will not see most content).

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Great music, fun crazy game. Crosshairs were a little hard to see at times, maybe slightly thicker/coloured lines would be good, since it's something that you really need to see. Seemed like the difficulty stops ramping up after a while - I got past 3 or 4 levels and then it didn't seem to get harder. Then I just made Piet dance crazy for a little while, which was really fun :) Which gives me an idea - a 'dance crazy' bonus round where you just have to tap everything fast, maybe with point for style (mixing up limbs, making them do full circles). Thanks for the LOLs :)

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:16pm

This is the game! So hilarious! And fits well the theme :)

ashdnazg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:52am

Ridiculously awesome, this Mondrian dude can pull some moves :D

Jacob says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:39am

Best.
Note quite complete, but still amazeballs in its current state. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]