April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Timining 1D

by GodsBoss - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML5 canvas game. Tested in Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox (recent versions) and Internet Explorer 9.

Why is the game minimalistic?
- At first, the graphics: Although this is the best I can do, it's still very simple.
- It is inspired by MineCraft, but uses the smallest number of dimensions that makes sense: One!
- The most minimalistic part is the sound: It does not have any. ;-)

I have just been told: The wooden tools are bugged - but it is possible to mine rocks by hand and craft stone tools.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#370Graphics3.31
#434Humor2.41
#717Overall3.02
#788Mood2.65
#874Theme3.20
#882Fun2.63
#912Innovation2.63
#1069Audio1.36

Comments

joeyhammer1 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53am

Very addictive!

sanojian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Funny idea. Nice game. Controls were a little bit clunky. My guy would freeze and then start again when moving or chopping. On Firefox.

yetanother says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I like the zombies :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

What an addictive game! Well done i liked it! :D

scriptorum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

"Again?" asked the game as it laid the crown of nerdiness upon my head. That was fun. After you craft the best items it gets a little grindy as you go on a long walk hunting for gold, but you knew I'd keep going, didn't you.

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06am

very nice graphics! ) and so fun ) but i did understand much

CrazyGage says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:32am

interesting. 1D minecraft. not for me, but still a good entry.

Zillix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:36am

a very neat, simplified minecraft! took a while to get used to the 1d movement, since it tooks waaay too long to try to return "home" each time I went out to go mining!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Nice, 'minimal' take on minecraft-likes. Thanks!

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Vey complex entry, not my kind of game, but i think you got the theme right! Well Done!

Follett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Controls felt clunky but I still enjoyed it.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Game freezes after 5 seconds of gameplay :L

GodsBoss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:32pm

@EatenAlive3: Which browser/version? It's kind of unstable in my Firefox at home, but is fine at work (both version 20.0.1). Google Chrome is okay, IE 9 also.

I want to continue developing (of course the Ludum-Dare-version will remain unchanged) and fix bugs like this one.

Bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Took me way to long but I finally built the crown!
I know it is supposed to be minimal, but an inventory listing and something like a 1pixel height map overview would have been very welcome >_<
Still a great game! Goes well with a podcast :-)

Tanius says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Nice concept and style :)
Maybe things in game should happend faster ;)

Super Hamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:25am

The controls were really buggy and for some reason, I kept scrolling down the site and the game would freeze over and over again, so I couldn't really play but it seemed really fun. Good job!:D

Tainted_Code says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Great idea, and addictive! Nice gfx too! :)

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Great game. Those zombies are really terrifying. I nearly shit my pants, when they have shown me the small print ;) Is it a good or bad sign, that I couldn't stop playing until I got the crown of epic nerdiness? ;) Nice job!

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Fun idea, well executed. I think I'd have preferred having recipes for the various objects, so I could tell how close I was getting, but I guess learning as you go can be fun too. Nice work!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:00pm

@GodsBoss I am using firefox. I'll start Chrome and give it a go.

May 5, 2013 @ 4:15pm

That was more addictive than I thought it would be. :) I wasn't sure what happened when I reached a part of the screen that I finally could not hack through, and eventually gave up. Is there a bit of Minecraft lore that I'd have needed in order to know what to do?

The item usage wasn't very clear to me either. I had no idea what I was making or why, or how.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Fun! It worked on Chrome. I didn't win though :L

May 5, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Not very original but interesting concept.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:28pm

An interesting take on the crafting theme, but the game doesn't seem to have much challenge and involves too much grinding and walking around. The gameplay misses out on what makes Minecraft compelling.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Looks good, plays good too. Great work!

May 9, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Very fun game! Cool that you were able to finish this on less than 48 hours! :)

Pyrofoux says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:29am

It reminds me my old prototype of «Minecraft-like 1D»
----> https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/69344892/m1craft/index.html

May 11, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Yeah, zombies are definitely cool :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:57am

Really very fun! Hard to see what effect the items have or how many until your work is done for you, but I guess that's part of the whole minimalist thing, huh?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]