April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cavern

by Parabol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Multimedia Fusion 2, BFXR and a tiny of Photoshop.

Keyboard to mave - WASD
Mouse positions lantern. Left Click Attacks, Right Click throws flare.

Collect as much treasure as you can while trying to escape the cave.

I incorporated the theme in the lighting scheme, and although through the use of the Dos EGA palete for all base graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#162Overall3.65
#175Graphics3.73
#234Fun3.38
#409Mood3.08
#543Humor2.24
#650Innovation3.00
#739Audio2.40
#1105Theme2.88
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Very cool! Loved the light mechanic and the flares. Didn't understand the green foot on the character. Graphics were great.

Parabol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

Hahaha, whoops. The green foot was a place holder while animating, kind of forgot about it :)

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29am

I loved the mood this threw me in while i played, nice job and just do more of this.

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

I really likes this. I am not a huge fan of limiting the players view though. The flares were a nice addition

Alphonsus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:38am

Love the graphics and the ambience! :)

May 1, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Awesome game! I loved the fact that my light grew dimmer by the minute, made for some exciting running around trying to find power!

donan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Light should have been more pixelated to match graphic style, but other than that its a good game. Have a really good mood.

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:00am

Very cool game. Nice and original. Good controls, tho I dont really like up for jump. Excellent work.

Binary Gambit says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:23am

You might want to put your game somewhere more accessible, skydrive asks for an MSN login.

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:37am

Nice game with a lot of secrets behind the walls :) Sadly that bat's always more powerful than me in the darkness

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:53am

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Very cool! Everything works nice. Audio is a little loud.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]