April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

War Zone: Decision Points

by Krahe - Jam Entry

An alternate reality modern fantasy quasi-historical multiple choice text adventure metagame. Actions are chosen by clicking on the available links. A clever player will be able to infer a lot about how to play from the context of the game alone, but uncertainty is part and parcel of warfare.

The entire game is a single .html file and can easily be played online or off without any installation.

You might like this if: You like both Tom Clancy and Dungeons and Dragons, you like multiple choice tests, you like birds.

You might not if: You dislike reading, you would rather have a broader and deeper range of choices in your war games, you like cats.

Probably not suitable for minors.

Made with: Twine 1.3.6 Alpha (https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/tweecode/8hYb9W9NsIo)
Twine: http://www.gimcrackd.com/etc/src/
Credit for several of the included macros goes to: http://www.glorioustrainwrecks.com/blog/584
ASCII art made with: http://www.network-science.de/ascii/

Special thanks to: A.L, H.E. and coffee.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Mood(Jam)3.78
#132Overall(Jam)3.50
#161Fun(Jam)3.20
#316Innovation(Jam)2.81
#321Theme(Jam)3.15
#375Graphics(Jam)2.82
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

sick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02am

Nice story, good branching. There are not enough good textbased games like this one.

BahamutZaero says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:03am

A great throw-back to the IRC games of the 80s and 90s!

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Love the throwback theme.

Tons of text! How in the world did you write all that so fast?

boboKat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:43am

Nice to see another Twine game. I'm one of the guys who likes cats though so I didn't have the patience for it. Also - not sure how this fits with the minimalist theme.

Tater_hater says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:45am

I had to stop playing because it distracted from my homework for half an hour. Basically, its really fun

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:43am

Wow dang...really in depth. Wish I wasn't in such a hurry. I need to remind myself to come back and replay through it.

TheCze says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Very nice entry! Enjoyed playing it.

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:36pm

You are a gifted storyteller. Excellent game!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:55am

Very nice, I am impressed (:

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Its looks remind me of a good ol' console. Makes me feel like I'm in a film about "hacking" :P

May 6, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Very interesting idea for a game, with tons of detail and an involving plot. Nice work on the ASCII and general 80s DOS game ambience, too.

I might come back later and see how the other decisions pan out.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:49pm

This was the best text based game I have played so far. Great Job.

kyru says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Interesting use of the theme and good story.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]