April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

</3

by kirby_freak - Jam Entry

A game about bullying. You're a high schooler trying to win the love of the most popular girl in school by picking on those weaker than you to try and build your reputation. Become more popular to be able to pick on more kids until you're able to talk to your crush. Of course, others will pick on you and decrease your popularity.

Explanation (SPOILERS FOR THE STORY PROCEED WITH CAUTION):
We decided to take the theme of "Minimalism" differently, and make our game about bullying. Why? Because when you bully others, you minimize their worth to themselves and others. We represented this by making all those less popular than you shadows. Everyone's sprite's complexity (square vs circle) depends on how popular they are, which also follows the theme of minimalism... Kinda... Anyways, in the end, you don't end up with the either the popular girl or the girl you initially rejected, because you've become a bully, something repulsive to them. Anyways, hope you had fun with the game, and that it wasn't too pretentious. :P This was our first Ludum Dare game.

NOTE: My brother and I have never really been bullied, we just thought it'd be interesting to make a game about being the bully and why it doesn't pay.

kirby_freak

Credits for the Granny Engine, the platforming physics engine used to make the game, go to Matt Thorson. I modded said engine to make it top down.

Credits for the awesome art goes to my brother yoshi_freak

Edit: New version uploaded to fix the bug that let you win the game right away. Oops.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Theme(Jam)3.61
#218Innovation(Jam)3.16
#393Mood(Jam)2.56
#414Fun(Jam)2.50
#434Overall(Jam)2.72
#449Graphics(Jam)2.53
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I really liked your take on the theme. I found it difficult to gain popularity.

kirby_freak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:49am

Thanks for the feedback! To be honest, it was supposed to be hard in the beginning so that the ending felt more... wild? But I may have overdone it, I didn't have that much time for balancing (birthday dinner with the family got in the way :P ). Thanks for playing!

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:23am

I was surprised by how much I got into this, honestly. I think the steep difficulty at the beginning actually helped the game: it was kinda scary trying to hunt out the first few victims, but extremely gratifying seeing more and more of your former tormentors fleeing in tears. Is this a game or a psychological diagnostic?

ddionisio says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:24am

Interesting take on the theme, so you're basically the giver of minimalism =P I like the title, that caught my attention! =)

I played for a while and I wasn't quite sure if I'm doing something wrong. I may have ran out of guys to bully.

Anyways I enjoyed playing, the intro was good! They have intense expressions!

dapierce says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:39am

It's a great concept, I was unclear at my status at first but when I played more carefully avoiding everyone, I began to realize how to progress. Nice bit of game mechanics at work there and it serves the story well.

Topaz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:19am

Very nice. Innovation was one of its strong points in my opinion, and the fact that it was an original style of gameplay.

kirby_freak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I'm glad you guys like it :). ddionisio, more guys should have randomly spawned outside your view, even if you haven't attacked anyone yet, to keep the chance that there's always someone lower than you high... It seems to have worked when I played, but I may have screwed something up :P If you want to try to beat it, my suggestion would be to load it up again and if you ever run out of people, just wander around until you find more. Thanks for playing though! And feel free to encourage others to play :P Would anyone be interested in a multiplayer version?

kirby_freak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Also, gonna edit the info to make this clear, my 13 year old brother did the art, not me, mine would have been horrible :P

donan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Like the concept. Its really original :D

ZYXer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:09am

I'm not sure I approve of the moral message of this game ;)

Really like the idea. But I wasn't able to bully any kids except the grey ones, what am I doing wrong?

matter123 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:09am

fun but hard
oh and it works under wine (v 1.5)

kirby_freak says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:51pm

ZYXer, to be clear, I'm not supporting bullying in any form, that's why the bully doesn't get either girl in the end. :p and that's what you're supposed to do! The gray people are the ones you bully, signifying they're weaker than you. As you bully more, more people become gray. The point of silhouetting them was to kinda be a metaphor for when people bully they kind of Dont think of people as a person. Kind of an obscure metaphor to be honest. :). Thanks for playing though, I hope you enjoyed it!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:11pm

It really could have benefited from audio!

I spent the first half of my playthrough believing that colliding with people with higher popularity than you didn't make you less popular.. so needless to say I spent a while playing the game xD

A tutorial or some in-game helper text would have been nice.

Spiridios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:17am

Could you perhaps put up a link that is not an installer? It gets messy having to remember to uninstall hundreds of LD games.

kirby_freak says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Not sure if I can... :/ I use GameMaker to program and then just hit compile into app, but maybe there's a way to make it standalone... I'll look into it :)

May 11, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Don't spoil the whole story in the description next time. (;

Good job otherwise, I liked the concept! ~

kirby_freak says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Oh, sorry >.<. I put that there so if someone doesn't get the story they could read it here.

kirby_freak says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Added a SPOILERS warning in the description

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]