April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cylinder

by Jacques_le_lezard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalist game :
- 1 objective : reach the end of each cylinder.
- 1 power : you can turn the cylinder.
...and each level is harder.

Hope you'll have fun !
(First game with Unity, be undulgent please ^^)

-------------------------------------------------------
Update:
You can choose to play to the updated version (it doesn't count for the ludumdare 26):
-more user-friendly controls
-faster (the 48h version is a bit slow)
-improve arms modelisation & animation
-add a few sounds
-add an end scene
--------------------------------------------------------

Jacques le Lezard


Issues :
-This game must be played with a qwety keyboard(switch with alt+shift in case you have an azerty one).
-Some problems with physic might happen, just restart the game in this case.

More :
You can see my portfolio (beta) at immersiv.alwaysdata.net (responsive design!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#292Innovation3.46
#368Audio3.02
#437Mood3.05
#452Graphics3.18
#457Overall3.26
#485Fun3.06
#819Humor1.88
#895Theme3.18

Comments

Aevek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35am

Love the concept, having great fun playing it right now. One suggestion for possible further expansion though. Maybe you could have a few levels where the rotation was out of your control? Just an idea.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

Thanks ! And yes good idea : it was planned ! (unfortunately I didn't spent my whole week end on it so I hadn't enough time ^^)

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20am

I like the idea and graphics are very pleasant. It would be much better if controls were 'q' and 'e' instead of 'r' and 't'.

There's one thing that's bothering me though. Who are you playing as? A cow? :D

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

This one was a lot of fun. I especially like your level design that makes it pretty interesting. I think the mouse is a bit too fast and q and e would definitley be much better than t and r. Also it gets really difficult once you need to get around those oompa loompa block thingies :) Bot overall a very nice atmospheric game. But those arms aren't human, are they? :)

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

The game is a bit slow, but i like the concept, i think a fast paced arcade plateformer like this would be incredible.

nice job :D

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:26am

Enjoyed the style in this one a-lot, i do wish the cylinder turned faster. Overall great concept.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45am

Cool concept and design, and your colours and lighting are well picked. I think the controls might have worked better if 'q' and 'e' were used for rotations, or even if you used the left and right mouse buttons. As other's have said, the game might have benefited from being a little faster, too - both in terms of player speed and rotation speed. Still, it's a good idea and it fits the theme well!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43am

Thanks for these comments ! I think I'll use the left and right mouse buttons. I'm going to work on an update including all your advices (faster and with more levels! ;)

TheCze says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Very good idea, had a bit trouble with the controls.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Cool concept, love to see it fleshed out more.

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Very neat idea, one that I'd love to see fleshed out into a larger game.

Just a few minor annoyances - I'd have liked Q and E as the rotation controls rather than R and T, but there wasn't any way to remap those. I felt the rotating and walking speeds were a bit slow, (although I can understand why you'd want a more calm relaxed atmosphere). And although the glowy aesthetic looks great, the edges of objects aren't very clear - which is something that would really help with the first-person jumping around.

But yeah, on the whole, a great idea! Let me know if you make a bigger game out of this.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Very interesting game! I really love the mechanics!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:54am

Great idea, and very neat puzzles you've got there. Was difficult to figure out you can move via WASD and jump with space.

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Nice idea and I like how you explored it deeply and how it got more and more complex This deserves a good spot among the physics-environment-puzzle-games alá portal that is all the rage nowadays. Great work!

ahm99 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I did find a glitch, if you play the game again without restarting, the creepy spike ball thingys will appear as magenta (255, 0, 255) boxes. But that's no big deal. REally interesting game. Very unique. I would like to see this made into a full game with more levels, better graphics, etc. Great job :)

May 13, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Ow thanks for reporting! I'll try to fix it ;) And as I said previously I'll try to make a full game with it, I already found someone for sound and music!

May 13, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Not a bad idea, and nice music, too! But the gameplay is a bit on the slow side, even for my standards... :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Bon travail, j'aime l'idée. Le personnage ets peut etre un peu lent et il reste encore quelques bugs de collision (j'ai reussi a sortir du cylindre.

Beerman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:27am

Love the idea, but the control layout was incredibly frustrating, with having to leap around the keyboard to switch from moving to rotating. I think a 3rd person view would work better as well, since end up having the camera right up against the obstacles a lot of the time.

zkenshin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Fun entry, good job. :)

Alphonsus says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:32am

Wow, this game is fantastic! Unique gameplay and great level design. While playing, I could really feel like I was inside the cylinder and my world was like really rotating.

The new controls are much better, however I also liked how the slow-paced version gave me a "2001: A Space Odyssey"-ish feel.

Awesome game overall! 5/5.

Madball says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:47am

Very original game, I had fun completeing it. I sometimes forgot which way is down, but that`s OK.
It seems not very polished. The lighting was disorientating, sometimes I couldn`t see a shape of an object, only it`s outline. The end door/whatever can be skipped. I also sometimes could jump over platforms those, I suppose, were not supposed to be jumpable over.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Awesome! I played through both versions, loved it. It reminds me a lot of Portal.

Amazing game.

bentog says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Good idea, but somehow I got out of the cylinder. Also, why do I have those cow arms?

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Apart from the fact that rotation controls felt a bit awkward (I agree with everyone else that it should be Q and E instead), this was a pretty good game with a nice gameplay concept and some well thought out levels.

Orni says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:28am

great idea :)

I like the concept a lot
well done

juaxix says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Nice idea, strange game :D

ilo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Cool concept and interesting puzzles. The lights and stark visuals are visually interesting. My interpretation was that I was a robot, alone, possibly in space... so the music felt a little upbeat perhaps.

Also, the cylinder might look better if you set the model import settings to calculate the normals and then adjust the smoothing angle to keep the main cylinder smooth but the obstacles more defined.

sittaman says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Good concept, good music but I think you need to calibrate the controls.

May 19, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Thanks everyone for theses comments! I'm especially surprised for the music: it was the first time I created one ^^ I will use all your advices for the next update (@ilo: thanks for your tip, I'll try this!)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]