April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Know Nothing

by MathiO - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What do YOU think this entry is really about? Let me know in the comments!

NOTE: For the web only use 'Chrome' as your browser.

This was my first Ludum Dare, and actually my first game entirely! I used the following:

Software: Game Maker Studio, Audacity, Sketchbook Pro, MS Paint
Hardware: Lenovo X220 Tablet, Yamaha P-95, Zoom H2n

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#22Theme4.34
#76Mood3.73
#158Audio3.42
#184Overall3.59
#306Innovation3.44
#374Graphics3.30
#389Humor2.50
#651Fun2.88

Comments

Farjuan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59am

Nice ending!

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:20am

Very interesting in concept and execution. Minimalist indeed, nice work!

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42am

neat!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10am

I like that the improving your ability to explore more is based on how much you have explored, not based on goals or things you pick up or do.

lekochen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23am

The more you explore, more humble you become. Pure genius.

gnoblegoblin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

It was like playing Dear Esther with a single synapse. Enjoyed it very much!

pansapiens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

What a stunning little game ! Someone get this into a gallery STAT ! (I'm too dense to get the deep meaning myself, but I thank @lekochen for explaining it above - mind=blown).

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

That was really great. You a vivid atmosphere with the music and giant pixels. I thought the potato gag somewhat cheapened the experience... but I still smirked.

lfpetrini says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

I loved the concept. And the ending was great.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

Pretty cool.

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

Pretty sweet!

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49am

Great work. You've really exemplified minimalism by distilling dungeon exploring to its core component: you can't advance until you've explored other areas. I found that the colors were a little hard to parse, especially the white (which I expected to be a solic block.)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16am

This is a work of art! Very well done. The ending puzzled me for a few seconds, until I realized it was so true to the theme! Good work.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

Potato! LOL

PixelIndigo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

I like this style =P

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

I had a nice experience with this artsy game. Exploring felt good, even though sometimes it's hard to read the screen (colors & shadow effects don't always work great together).

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46am

Intresting consept, buut not really appealing for me. Also I feel that the ending is really immersive breaking..

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

What Xgor says.

nerrabyte says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

/
Where's the source

MathiO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Wow thanks for all these kind words and for playing my game!

@Rose/Chman: I agree, it does tend to get a little too busy visually at times. It didn't start that way though, I got a little carried away and only realized it when it was too late.

@Greg/Xgor/Super: You're right, this was not my originally intended ending. It was supposed to be a secret, an inside joke. The actual ending was a little beyond the scope of my abilities and remaining time.

I hope to address these and the rest of the issues in my postmortem in a few days.

@nerrabyte: I've added the file to the page if you want to have a look now.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Like the shocking twist at the end. :D

Zccc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Ahaha very artsy, I like it!

Ian MacLarty says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

I had to play this twice. Quite moving.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Lovely.

fishbrain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:51pm

That was... so cool... thumbs up for mood. Beautiful.

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Amazing mood, wonderful original music. Peaceful reflective explorer.

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:58am

Wow! Very reminiscent of the minimal exploration of Small Worlds but you've also managed to distill the essence of Metroidvania progression in a really elegant way! Almost like a reverse-Katamari... :)

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:01am

Terrible ending, though. ;)

shawn42 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Wonderful, didn't see the ending coming, good work.

atraxgames says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Well you put me in the mood and then... :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:23am

Very cool and simple. I love how you just naturally discover what is going on, and how all the obstacles are organic parts of the terrain. It made me think about things. Sometimes it was a little hard to tell the difference between places you could travel and walls, but that's a pretty minor complaint.

messiano says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:21am

Nice experience, and pretty minimalistic :).

Orni says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:04am

nice idea
very relaxing experience

well done, I enjoyed it :)

lotusgame says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:43am

Finally a good game based on the theme ! Great game design idea. (I found the potatoe:) Well done !

dem0 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:22pm

That was a really nice experience, geat mood! I did find the potato but didn't realize any way to win.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Impressive game experienge. I've immersed really deep in the universe that I've created. Congratulations!

PixelIndigo says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:12pm

So awesome story :3

EggDestroyer says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I felt I was killing my poor cube and I didn't want him to die... Maybe you could've emphased more on this, as I'm afraid I don't really get the point of the game in its current state. But I admit I was sucked in a weird, sad atmosphere, and that's well done :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Well, Generally i dislike Exploration games, but yours have a great mechanic (shrinking). Good job.

Husky says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Cool!
I like your concept and the pixel scene, really impressive!:p

KevinLaity says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:01am

Very unique and thoughtful!

Misael.K says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:31am

Cool idea, really gives you a nice sense of progression. Up until a certain size, exploration was very rewarding. After getting sufficiently small, I could fit anywhere, and so the path became too simple.
I feel you could've done so much more! The places are very good looking (though sometimes is hard to tell walls apart) and there is a lot of mystery to this. Unfortunately, it falls short at the end. No smaller places to get into, no micro-universe discovered. Just potato.
Still, good job, keep it up!

MathiO says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I'd like to thank everyone for all their feedback, I really appreciate it! :)

@Misael: You're right, I had a more complete idea in my plans but my vision exceeded my capabilities and I was not able to finish it as I envisioned on time. However this is my first game and my objective was simply to get something done and out there. Perhaps if I held off and submitted to the Jam instead of the Compo, but alas we'll never know. I'm not sure if I'll continue to develop it or move on. Thanks for playing and for the feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]