April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BONSAI

by NeuronFire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Remove the unnecessary to reveal your bonsai's true form!

Click on the unneeded foliage to remove it before the pot becomes too small to and your bonsai dies off.

4/29/2013: Fixed a bug where your subsequent trees would have phantom branches, preventing you from winning your 2nd game, or later...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#234Mood3.31
#237Innovation3.55
#343Graphics3.35
#393Theme3.70
#848Overall2.90
#931Audio2.00
#1175Fun2.20
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

triforcespark says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:15pm

This needs more gameplay. Good idea, anyway

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This is probably the longest submission that I played. Surprisingly relaxing and enjoyable. +1 for GladOS

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I think the fully trimmed bonsai in this game is too trimmed, but maybe it's just my personal taste that's not minimalistic enough :)

I like the idea, but it could have used something more (although maybe that would have been in conflict with the theme), not sure what.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I think I don't know enough about bonsai to "get" this game, but it seems interesting.

mikeware says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Really interesting idea. Virtual Bonsai. Seems a little crazy to click each pixel though. Thinking it'd be interesting if it starts in the middle and you see it growing, and you have to trim it back continually...?

Also, be nice if the message at the end in the textbox actually stated if you won or lost as it says both right now.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I'm not sure clicking all the pixels on a screen is considered game-ish...
It's very pretty but I couldn't see any strategy or point.

itsZN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

I like this, but I agree, it looks too trimmed

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Always nice with procedural generation. The gameplay is pretty lacking though, and the surrounding text kept getting selected when I clicked on the foliage, which was pretty annoying. Maybe you could expand upon the idea by adding upgradeable tools or something like that?

Stryphe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07pm

I like the idea!

Christian S. says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:21am

The web link seems to be broken.

NeuronFire says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Hmm.. it seems to be working now. Thanks for letting me know Christian.

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Was fun. I clearly butchered my bonsai though, so pretty much exactly like a real one would be.

Kimau says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Loved it to bits <3

So relaxing and a wonderful experience.
Small tip, one thing that broke it for me was double clicking and selecting the top text. Quick fix for that below.

-webkit-touch-callout: none;
-webkit-user-select: none;
-khtml-user-select: none;
-moz-user-select: none;
-ms-user-select: none;
user-select: none;

Tiago says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Nice game! Really relaxing to trim down the tree, just missing some soothing groove, good job!

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Very interesting take on theme... it's not quite as calming as maybe a real tree would be... but very novel.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]