April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Six Steps

by Salamander3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First ever Ludum Dare submission. Control scheme is in the options menu, but incase you miss that,
Enter/Return resets the level.
Left/Right arrows move.
Space bar jumps.
Potatoes gonna potate. created using allegro 5 in c++, from scratch. Enjoy!

**edit**

Want to make your own levels? All level files are included as text files in the source, along with the 'level list'. just create a new level as a .txt file (look at the other levels as a guide), add your saved txt file name to the list of levels and play away. Not added anything to the source and this is not an update, this has always been there, just thought I'd inform you of something I'd forgotten about. :P Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#381Innovation3.35
#543Humor2.24
#676Fun2.84
#696Mood2.74
#705Overall3.03
#775Graphics2.74
#822Audio2.24
#912Theme3.16

Comments

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

You could have polished more this game, mainly the collisions, but generally, I liked the concept and the game.

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Potatoes gonna potate!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Interestingly designed puzzle game. The controls felt a bit clunky but having limited steps is a very neat idea.

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:36pm

nice

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44pm

potato

I didn't like that water level or the last one :P But it was nice otherwise potato.

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Good concept but it needs some more juice. Why not auto-restart the level when you reach zero?

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:15pm

I liked this one. Nice concept!

JustinMullin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Neat idea, and enjoyable! It wasn't clear to me that Enter restarted the level, so I quit to the menu the first time I reached zero and checked the controls. Everything else was made clear by playing the game though.

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

"System Error: The program can't start because MSVCR100.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."
Trying to play on Windows 7. Seems like an essential file is missing?

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:51pm

hiss: This was coded on a windows 7 machine, 64 bit. It should work fine - did you extract all the files to the same folder? and have you made any edits to the files at all?

Celticraft49 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:47pm

I enjoyed a kind of new idea. It was fun. It was very similar to the challenges in portal where you have to do the levels in under a certain amount of steps.

hissssssssss says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:02am

Salamander3: I tried to play it directly from extracting, and didn't modify or move anything.

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:36am

Hiss: Firstly, thanks for sticking with this.:) after a quick Google session of your error, it seems you're missing a .dll from your system32 folder. It looks to be something that affects a few people on a whole host of games, and the solution is invariably 'download a copy of msvcr100.dll'. Hope this helps and if it does, hope my game is worth it!

AlanZucconi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:24pm

I really like the design of your main screen! :)
Nice job! :D

May 2, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Good game! i like the concept and graphics, good job

free_napalm says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:01pm

I had problems with the controls in the water level that made me quit, otherwise great concept.

Bernhard says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:09pm

It's a fun unique puzzle idea, I liked the little tiny bit of some platforming mixed in. I assume with more time a lot of interesting mind bending puzzle levels could be made. For now it shows off its ideas quite well.

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:30am

Nice idea with 6 steps :) Played for 5-6 levels and have fun!
By the way, I choosed potato in options and it worked only for first level - that's ok? :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]