April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tulip

by ianmaclarty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of this game is to stay alive ... or grow a Tulip garden.

I've tried to make something easy to learn, but hard to master, taking inspiration from games like Super Hexagon and the Impossible Game.

I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it!

Note that the Linux build is 64bit only.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#75Audio3.67
#148Theme4.02
#156Fun3.51
#216Overall3.54
#282Mood3.22
#363Graphics3.32
#404Humor2.47
#543Innovation3.13

Comments

Aaron4576 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:03am

Wonderful game! Catchy sound track to!

ianmaclarty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:06am

Thanks man!

Music was really hard. I started working on doing some procedural arranging of loops for variety, but I couldn't get it to produce reliably good sounding music, so I just went with something simple, if repetitive.

Phase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29am

Very cool! I really love the way you can see your death points. That's a great way to keep track of scores.

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

Pretty fun, followed the theme well

yajiv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

Very nice! I liked the music :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40am

34.56s was my best. Wow, that was tough! Cool idea! And great implementation of visual minimalism.

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

Really well done. Love the Tulips. You could turn this into a rhythm game if you could sync the blocks to the music.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

Animation and music are top-notch. Game's pretty fun and challenging too.

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

Nice game and of course perfectly fitting to the theme!
Also very nice sound. :)

It took me longer than I am proud of, to understand what these markers on the bottom stand for (the previous attempts) :D

good job

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

The concept is simple, but it's beautifully executed.

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Neat idea on death :D

TripleHexel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I would like to try this but upon executing it (Linux) I got an error, "./ltclient: 1: ./ltclient: Syntax error: "(" Unexpected

Ian MacLarty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Hi TripleHexel,
I think I might have fixed your problem (I changed the shell for that script to bash instead of sh), but I'm not sure as I can't reproduce it myself.
Could you try again?
If it still doesn't work, please try running the following command from the tulip directory:

$ ./ltclient data

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

34.83. I grew some tulips, and I stared in awe at the minimalism. This game right here sums up the theme perfectly!

Ian MacLarty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I've updated the Linux build of the engine so that most of the dependencies are statically linked. This means you don't need to install specific versions of glew, glfw or openal to run it. There are no changes to the game itself.

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Great game, and idea, great graphics. Minimalistic. Nice music.

bushmango says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Perfect use of color

maloki says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Nice style and music. I just gotta love that huge time text :D

The patterns are quite challenging too and kept me on the edge of my seat. :P

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Very lovely game, and really nice soundtrack! It probably need some more random, not only the color of the player, because after 11-12 gameplays i felt it was a bittle lit repetitive!

dem0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Minimalistic gameplay but still very addicting. Really nice music too!

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:42pm

i liked the game. had a pretty similar idea during the brainstorm phase, but didn't go for it. well done

xandy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:04pm

wow. just wow.

savethejets1 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Awesome! Sound is great, graphics fit the theme and are really tight. Great work.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Great sound ! 28,9 : my best score ... it's pretty hard.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I like the concept!

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:18am

Wow, I really like this :D Very fun and fantastic music!

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:23am

This is very addictive 8| Like a cross between the impossible game and bit trip runner. The thing that makes this good is the well thought out placement of the obstacles.

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:26am

Great game! Graphics stick to the theme and it really encourages obsessive self improvement. Also the numbers look very sharp. Nice one.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:38am

I get this error on Windows:

Failed to select a GLFWFBConfig from the alternatives
Unable to find a usable pixel format
Failed to create GLFW window
AL lib: (EE) alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed

Ian MacLarty says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Hi ohsqueezy,

I did some research and that error could happen if you're using the default Windows OpenGL drivers (which have no hardware acceleration). Installing the latest graphic drivers from your GPU manufacturer might help.

Ian.

Polar says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Really nice game, and it definitely gets hard as you go on! 39.56s

Dmitrix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I love the music and the game mechanic!

protensity says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:52pm

It's so simple, but it moves so fluidly and has a catchy soundtrack - quite fun!

ddionisio says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:51am

Pretty cool! I grew a lot of tulips, I like how they are kept track when you start over. Nice presentation and a decent soundtrack.

evoker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:53am

Fun, addicting game with minimal controls. I like the way the elapsed time is visualized and I thought the way the music dropped whenever you died was funny.

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:05am

What a wonderful bit of design! Most LD games use boxes as a cop-out. This game owns it and it looks/sounds great.

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:12am

Cute. The game's main mechanic might be improvable if there were occasionally squares you would actively want to be on the top or bottom to touch - powerups or score boosters of some sort.

Overall, a very competently done minigame. The flower garden aspect of it was a nice touch too.

dector says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:06am

One of best games in LD26, I think.

heuermh says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:27am

Yeah, probably my most favorite game of LD 26 so far. Can't wait to show it to my kids, I think they'll enjoy it too.

Madball says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Cool and addictive! I like that no matter how chaotic blocks look, you can always pass them. Also, the planting idea is awesome.
In fullscreen tulip heads appear higher than they should.
Got 71.31s.

bvanschooten says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:23pm

This game showed up in several favourites lists, so I thought, I got to play it. It's polished and well balanced even while the levels have some randomness, but I didn't enjoy it all that much. I suppose it's a little too simple for my tastes, or I've seen this kind of game a little too often (such as line runner which I also didn't like much). Also, minimalist graphics don't work for me (something I found out more than ever during this LD). This should make a good Android game with a bit of sightseeing added though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]