April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OZE

by BigBlackBeard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You can mute the sound using the little "Sound" button en the bottom left ;)

Here is my first Ludum Dare Compo. I hope you'd like this game. An Android version is planned this week, soon on PlayStore :)

Use arrow keys to join the vortex whithout touching the "walls".

Highscores are only recorded in "Play" mode, not in "Training" mode. /!\WARNING /!\ You can erase all your highscores !

All content was created, alone, using Construct2 for game making, PyxelEdit and Photoshop for desing and PixiTracker for sound and musics loops.

Enjoy !

BigBlackBeard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#512Fun3.03
#599Innovation3.07
#611Mood2.81
#705Overall3.03
#717Graphics2.83
#785Audio2.30
#803Theme3.29
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

EkinOf says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:35am

The game is simple but good, the last level is hard but nice :)

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

I don't think I've seen a game with this exact mechanic before, and there were some clever parts that make good use of it. However, the music drove me freaking nuts. Not sure why exactly but I found it irritating beyond belief. Nice game other than that.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01am

That is really good. The controls are pretty much perfect... which is very important in a game like that!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

I thought it was clever to have a precision puzzle game with a rotating stick. Made for some interesting puzzles, in any case.

My only real complaint is that I felt that the music got very annoying after a while, though I suppose there's just not much you can do no such short notice.

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14am

Don't forget there is a little "Sound" button on the bottom left of the title screen, to turn it off ;). Thank for your comments !

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

the game is nice and fun to play, but its a lot similar to another puzzle game for the GBA

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

I like the game mechanism here :)

Nice tricky puzzler.

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Really fun game. Sliding through the corridors at just the right time was enjoyable.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49am

wow -- that was so awesome -- great use of the theme -- simple gameplay, yet addicting -- want to play again -- awesome effort

Exe75 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

Good game, simple, minimalist as the Theme. Good job !

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

Interesting concept, a good mix of puzzle and timing. The collision effects are very satisfying. I found the music got a little annoying after a while, but wasn't a big problem. It seems like mouse control might be cool, but could take some time to implement effectively. Good job overall!

Also, very nice logo, heh.

amijlee says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

Neat, I like the effect when the bar hits the walls. The harsh melody that comes into the music in level three is jarring and doesn't really fit.

netpro2k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58am

I was just thinking of a GBA game that was very similar to this! Very cool mechanic, well used.

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11am

There is a litle music bug in level 3, old song don't stop, so, the new one is playing over the old, no realy enjoyable. Sorry for that !

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13am

very nice, cool mechanic. Levels were probably right about the difficulty they should be, but christ was level 6 annoying. The final level was actually pretty awesome once you mastered it, I felt like I was doing some kind of crazy kung fu training. "Be like the wind." It felt like dancing or something. Interesting how such a simple mechanic can express so much, minimalism to a T.

Beat all 7 levels, I know you have a "high score" table, but I'm not sure how much replay value there really is. Maybe if there were time-trials/challenge mode, I dunno http://imgur.com/Rfsa8SJ But I can't really complain for 48 hours. Well done, sir.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07am

Very interesting concept, and also well executed. It's surprisingly fun and addictive.

The music had me on edge pretty quickly, though :) Became grating fast.

Congratulations! :)

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33am

I like the sparks when you hit the walls. Sound is nice. Rotating strategic thinking for movement

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I didn't expect that to be that good by the images and then got surprised. Damn! Good job mate!

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:54pm

The controls and collision response are luckily very well implemented. It satisfies the core mechanics, making the game pleasant to play, despite its inherent difficulty.

The sound is a bit too much repetitive but, hey, minimalism right.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Lovely idea! like the musiv and level-progression :)

Alphonsus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:24am

Nice mechanic, I had fun playing this game. Awesome work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]