April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

H48SJ4, the MINIMIZING robot

by Aifryz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You walk with arrow keys, shoot with space.
Your objective is to shoot the computers(green, yellow and blue tiles). Projectiles are destroyed when they touch walls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1095Graphics2.30
#1194Mood2.00
#1270Theme2.52
#1274Fun1.93
#1284Coolness48%
#1319Innovation1.72
#1320Overall2.07

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02am

Sadly there's no Win32-version. :(

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Not sure what I'm doing.

xandy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:04pm

it was very easy as there were no enemies or a way to lose the game?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

too easy and no enemies to kill me -- nice effort.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:49pm

At the moment there is a whole lot of nothing of interest in the game, but it's a good starting point.

It could become an action game where there is a time limit or hostile entities trying to shutdown the player before she can minimize the computers.
Or.
It could be a puzzle game with limited turns or a certain order/color code to go about minimizing.

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Somewhat thematic of LD but this is not much of a game, more of a prototype for a game. It wasn't bad - felt nice, controlled wellish (aiming was a bit hard but /shrug) - if this gets some polish and some more interesting mechanics put in (enemies perhaps? clock? etc?) Who knows, but I think it has a lot of potential!

Morgawr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:28pm

I totally agree with what the others have said, there's not much in here to do at the moment, might become a cool game if polished and improved.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Not sure why there is collision for the shots but not for the robot itself.
Here it didn't show the mystery yellow number in the lower right from the screenshot. Maybe it's debug info :-)
Anyway, props for real C++ gamedev, good start!

Aifryz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Thanks for all the comments. I love this community! Friendly opinions instead of hate. I agree this is more of proof of concept than game, but I wanted to actually make something "gamelike" and LD was a great motivation. When I'll have some free time I'm going to fix this "thing"(I guess I'll rewrite most of the code). I want to implement more levels, working player collision and maybe something else. I thought about making this game an action game with time limit and some other dangers (mainly traps). I simply forgot to do player-wall collision :( (but I think it could be easily done now). The yellow number is fps counter from FRAPS.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:53am

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Ernyz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Well, it surely needs some more content... On the other hand, you have a base to build something on :)

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I like the game, but shooting seemed strange when moving up. Cool code, never heard of SFML before, I might just look at it!

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Ok, nice start! But bit to easy => no challenge and no ending! At least I didn't see one once I minimized all computers ;D. Add some enemies and build a couple of levels and you would have cool game. (I assume that was what you intended...)

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Well, it is definitely minimal. I like the animation of the robot and the visual style of the game, but there isn't much content. It could definitely use some sound as well. I also noticed that the robot always turns to face up/north any time I stop moving which is a little obnoxious. In any event, good effort on this one.

mikeware says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:03pm

It seems really weird that you can walk anywhere but your bullets are stopped by the walls. Also, returning to center was really annoying as I couldn't let go of the arrow key to stop moving and then shoot. The graphics are pretty nice and I like the idea; just would like to see a bit more behind it.

cakemonitor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:00pm

it need some sense of challenge and some sound effects too, but it's a good starting point

Zim the Fox says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:56am

Fisrt of all, when you press the arrow keys to start the robot does not appear, it only appears when you press space.

Congrats on making an entry for the Ludum Dare! But as others have said, the game is kind of empty.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]