April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Real Final Boss

by Nifty Key - Jam Entry

We took one of our favorite parts from video games, and reduced our entire game to it: boss fights.

A bit too many features had to be cut. You'll probably have some unfair deaths because of it. In spite of this, the game is quite forgiving.

Some known bugs:
*The game flickers prohibitively in Chrome, but is playable in Firefox and IE.
*Bosses can kill you when dying or when entering the screen.

We're pretty happy with our first game jam experience. If anything, we have a base for a concept that we enjoyed working on and playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#247Theme(Jam)3.33
#406Fun(Jam)2.53
#481Graphics(Jam)2.40
#498Overall(Jam)2.47
#516Innovation(Jam)2.00
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55am

Nice minigame. At one point bosses stopped spawning though? I like the music!

Nifty Key says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02am

Thanks for playing it. There are only 3 bosses and a distinct lack of an ending.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

It needs more work to be a full game but I really like the Atari 2600 looking style and the boss visuals. Could be very cool and fun with more work. Keep at it. Let me shoot, etc, make it easier to dodge, and all that.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:29am

I also got massive z-fighting with the heads and hands in chrome. Not sure if it's a browser bug or what.

Nifty Key says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39pm

We might push a fix for the Chrome bug under the guise of "platform porting".

Yeah, it's definitely not a full game. But it's got potential.

artctrl says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:36am

Great start! Would love to see it developed further

dertom says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Haha, great game with cool music! Nice simple visuals and funny boss like trash-talk :D

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice work! You really captured the essence of boss fights, good move with the autofire. Also like the dialog from the hero, gave it a cool personality.

Xgor says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:16am

Gotta say, the flickering was extreme for me. It worked fine otherwise but the bosses needs to be more exiting, The patterns was kinda boring.

Nonameghost says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Interesting! I'd like to see it worked on with more variety and control! Nice Job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]