April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Laeser

by KristianGibson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Laeser is inspired by the simplicity and addictiveness of old arcade games and takes on quite a few visual, gameplay and aural effects to emulate that feeling. Enjoy!

Source is included with main download and can also be downloaded separate.

Gamemaker is required to view the source.

Sorry Mac and Linux users, I have neither a linux or a mac and gamemaker will not export it as either a .app or a .ELF

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#683Graphics2.88
#714Humor2.00
#795Audio2.28
#972Mood2.44
#1091Overall2.63
#1105Theme2.88
#1130Fun2.28
#1334Innovation1.61

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:27pm

When I try to start it, I get the following error message:

"
___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of Draw Event
for object crteffect2:

Trying to use non-existing surface."

Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Thanks, im not quite sure what happened there, I tested it for quite a while and got no errors.

Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Actually if you're opening the source, you need gamemaker 8 pro.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

Good game!

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

Great stylized game. It looked like a CRT. Great.

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

I liked it, especially the arcade case around the screen, So you made it in Gamemaker 8 Pro, I will have to check that out.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

Thanks guys, these comments just made my day (:

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Good effort!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46am

I got the error too.
It happens when you try to check hint or control before launching the game. If you launch the game without checking those pasges everything works fine.
The game itselft is nice, the sfx works well the crt retro effect. I just regret the star patterns, they appear line by line, some more y randmness would greatly improse the scrolling space feeling.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28am

Thanks! I am not sure what the error is though sadly, I am not getting it and my parent's computer isn't.
I agree, those stars could have been improved on.

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

I'm getting no errors and runs fine (Windows 7 x64), nice old school shooter

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Game works fine for me.

Looks pretty, but I get nauseous after only playing it for a short while.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

Wow, not sure what it is but everyone gets a different experience while playing (:

lambomang says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16am

Dem ships got swag, yo.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

Haha, thanks (:

yinbar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Wow, really good visuals! Feels great.

PhilZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Pretty fun arcade style game. Not anything innovating or new, but still a little addictive and fun to play. Graphics look old school, and I like old school graphics. Overall, fun game.

Good job, mate!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Thanks! Everything you commented was my exact goal (this was my first ludum dare so I kept it simple)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Certainly captured the old-school aesthetic, nice visual work.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

Thankyou (:

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Sooo Retrooooo.
By the way I think your spaceships look like cow heads. Once you see cow heads your game take another very special/weird dimension. ;)

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Cool graphics! I like the old-scool crt-style of it. Theme is relized quite nicely :)

SuperDisk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:50am

Simple game, would have done nicely with some music. Neat visual style.

May 8, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Not bad for a very simple arcade shooter :)

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:54pm

The arcade game style was effective, and the game was well paced. I felt like the weapon was too weak - it would be good if you got some upgrades. I'm glad you had retro sound effects, but some chip-tune music would have been nice :) All in all, it's a simple game, but it does what it says on the tin - plus you could shoot potatoes! Always good in my book!

May 13, 2013 @ 10:05am

Thanks guys! And finally, someone realizes you can shoot potatoes ;D

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:32pm

It needs a lot of ballancing I think. Ships are too fast to shoot them down or bypass bullets to get a chance to shoot.

And you don't have to flash colors or use just the basic 3 to make the game look oldschool. Look up some VCS games on YouTube - if you don't want to play them by your self - to get the idea of the color usage.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]