April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ShiftWorld

by Nyyman - Jam Entry

You're a boy in a misty, gray city. The only thing clearly seen in the place is a white butterfly, constantly flying away from you.

ShiftWorld is a runner game where you jump over obstacles and gaps, while also making obstacles you encounter smaller or larger in order to proceed in the level.

Download and Install guide:
The URL links you to a Dropbox folder. Click "Download" in the upper right part of the website, then click "Download as .zip". Then extract the .zip file called "ShiftWorldGame.zip" and in the folder "ShiftWorldGame" double-click the "setup.exe" file. If the computer warns it being suspicious, just click Install. The game should be running now.

This version of the game has only two levels and no sound effects. There would have been music but the Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 our coder used had no proper .dll files installed for some reason but we'll see if we can fix that in the future. The game will be developed forward, with more levels, audio effects and a proper story.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Graphics(Jam)4.00
#256Mood(Jam)3.00
#299Overall(Jam)3.05
#382Innovation(Jam)2.61
#411Theme(Jam)2.84
#414Fun(Jam)2.50
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Nice art style!

samuraisusy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

I love the graphics, especially animations. The controls feel great and the game runs very well. When this has music, sounds and more levels I think it will be successful in many ways.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Runs great. Cool style... inspired by Vector? Great Game! With a little bit more sound it could be much better ;)

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:56am

Who wouldn't like this? Cool animations. Only thing it lacks is a music like in Canabalt.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:32am

Audio would have been amazing in this; I look forward to seeing a more completed version eventually. Graphics were beautiful, and shrinking/expanding objects was an interesting mechanic.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49am

Love the art style! Nice game :)

AlanZucconi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I really like the style that you used! :)
Very polished! :D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:47am

You're right, add some sounds it will be great !

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51am

Very cool graphics, loved it! The second level actually took me about ten tries, that second barrel is devillishy difficult!

Would defenitely benefit from a soundtrack. Also, I think the character could move a bit faster.

May 2, 2013 @ 8:51am

Very neat art style, quite captivating!

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:27am

good idea, canabalt + alice (growing/decreasing world) ...make the game faster please ;)

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Very interesting concept... the need to scale the objects before approaching them is great! The execution needs a little work, but I think you can do great things with this idea!

alcazar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:26am

i can pass the second pattern

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I love the art! The animation on the running guy and the hand drawn backgrounds are really excellent. The gameplay is a nice twist on the Canabalt run and jump formula, though it needs significant tweaking to get it to flow as freely. The weapon projectile should travel faster, the jumping should be more forgiving, and the movement could be faster (with no need to choose between slow and fast). The game is very short and could do with audio. The intro screens and general game art are fantastic though, and you should be proud.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]