April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stroid

by morbidbuilder407 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is where civilization hangs in balance. Collide with as many as other asteroids as you can to see how much is left when the ashes settle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#616Audio2.61
#648Humor2.10
#957Graphics2.53
#1103Innovation2.27
#1225Mood1.88
#1238Fun2.00
#1274Overall2.27
#1311Theme2.33

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05am

Stroid is a end of civilization game that was made with 2 art assets 2 sounds and a whole bunch of cloning. You start off as a small asteroid and your objective is to collide with as much stuff as possible for impact with earth to see how much humanity you destroy.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08am

I built this game while hanging at the beach with the family in Treasure Island Fl.. Total time spent building 12 hrs..

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

Here is the web version of my game...
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/89203939/ludum%20dare/Stroid%20by%20Patrick%20Rasmussen/Stroid%20by%20Patrick%20Rasmussen.html

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02am

Actually use this link to play web version..
http://db.tt/3c5zDxWu

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09am

The instructions confused me, I thought the asteroid was going to grow as I hit other asteroids. Then I hit the planet and it said I lost and didn't kill anyone.

So that was like 2 minutes of trying to hit rocks for a random shot? The planet was spinning too fast for me to aim.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

It lacks some sense of depth, i can't know if an asteroid is behind me before I try to collect it. the fact that your size changes doesn't help :/ maybe if you added fog (check render settings if you haven't) that would help.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

Had a difficult time at first because I was using wasd to control and they are completely messed up. Arrow keys work just fine though. You should edit your entry to add the webplayer link. Nearly missed it in the comments lol.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29am

At start I didn't understand much what was going on, I actually thought I had to avoid the other asteroid. With some more polish this could be a very nice game, as the idea is pretty neat.
When I restart the game after hitting the planet It doesn't spawn any ateroids, just an empty space.

NightDreamer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Would love if you can accelerate your played Object a little bit, because it takes some time to reach the earth. :)

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Noooooo I dont want to destroy my planet LOL

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

I had the same problem as ilovepixel. Thought you had to avoid the other asteroids, and after a restart no asteroids spawned.

After a second attempt it went much better. A bit slow, maybe, but quite entertaining.

Kix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

The game is pretty smooth, no obvious bugs, but there is a lack of depth perception(A bit of a downer). Good job none the less though

Kix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

Just restarted the game and theres no asteroids?

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12am

Hitting asteroids to grow bigger is a little non-intuitive, as others have commented. Cool idea though, and well implemented!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

It's a nice game, was a little difficult to gauge where the other asteroids were in relation to me.
Good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Hah, I quite like the concept, and the use of music at the end. For future work, I observed 3 pieces of information that need to be imparted better:

1.You are one of the asteroids, not a camera floating in space.
2.You aren't supposed to avoid the other asteroids.
3.Your size relative to the other asteroids. Near the end asteroids which I thought were in front of me were actually behind.

Pretty cool!

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Not really in key with the theme, but still interesting for what it's worth, did like the use of perspective, the instructions were a bit confusing but I got it after a while.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Took me a while to realize where I was, controls and what not but I got the hang of it.
It would be even nicer if you could pile up space junk as well and grow bigger.
That would do some crazy damage to that poor human civ :)

bryonglass says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Loved the graphics, but it was so short, the game was over before it started.

netpro2k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36am

There is not a great sense of depth perception here, it was often difficult to tell that i had already passed asteroids. A different camera angle might help. Also the instruction implied the asteroid would grow, but this wasn't working for me.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

I feel like if the music ramped up much much quicker it would have made this game a lot more fun. I was trying to find a way to get the music to play louder as I went but it was still too quiet for me to really hear, but then again maybe my audio equipment is the fault there.

Anyway, cool little game. I agree with the depth perception being a pain, and the instructions are a bit confusing, but once you figure it out it's sort of like bowling or something lol.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:51pm

The controls / balance needs tweaking, but you may be onto something here.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]