April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Win *Proof of Concept*

by Cognizant Game Studios - Jam Entry

This is by far not finished and I wanted to contribute so here we go!!
TO BE ADDED:
>> Enemies

>> Random Map Generation

>> Fix the physics

>> Make a menu

>> Make a game over

>> Make a win screen
All needed to be added
Probably wont finish the game but what the hay I have to add somethings!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#252Graphics(Jam)3.29
#289Theme(Jam)3.21
#332Humor(Jam)1.93
#427Audio(Jam)1.88
#437Mood(Jam)2.40
#494Innovation(Jam)2.11
#539Overall(Jam)2.21
#543Fun(Jam)1.85

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I liked the lightning effects. Shadows are really cool. I wish i had such cool effect :) (its about dark/light gameplay too)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Thanks I used the LIBGdx Box2D wrapper and Box2DLights :)

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Like the glow!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

The glow effect is incredible! Great job on that. But I don't know what I'm supposed to do, honestly. I can't figure out the game portion.

ecool377 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

cool, i like the glow

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

It really does look fantastic. I'm a sucker for harsh shadows. Should I assume that there wasn't some mechanic above "wonky jumping" that I missed?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

The game is supposed to be a little plat-former where you are supposed to find your way through randomly generated levels (quick last minute idea), the jumping... I have got to fix that, and for mechanics really, no :P oh well. Got another little project to work on.

Alexander says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05am

I can't open the Mac version. It comes in as a zip to an .exe.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19am

What are the controls?

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

The controls are WASD and Space, of course. Really could use better platforming physics, but you already knew that. ;)

Really good job on the lighting effects.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26am

@Alex In the zip you should have a App bundle that you can run other than that you can just run the jar

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:33am

I couldn't get this to run on OS X:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ca/cognizantgamestudios/game/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:06am

Nice lighting. I think for Mac, Java 7 doesn't work.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:53pm

You said there are randomly generated levels? Because it's the same level every time I launch it, and I can't find my way through! >.<

The lightning is gorgeous, but otherwise I gave this entry a low score because it is kinda... empty, but I guess you know that. Also, the .exe won't run on my computer. I have Windows 7 64bit, am running on a Pentium Dual-core and an ATI Radeon HD 5700.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:26am

OSX you have to use Java 6 I believe, I'll try it on my MacBook, and Zim, I said that's a feature to be added... The most recent version has a lot more, this wasn't a competitive entry.. this was just a little something because I wanted to contribute to the Ludum Dare, my first idea failed, so this was maybe 3 hours of work... js

May 2, 2013 @ 12:32am

also... a little tip for you zim the game doesn't have an end yet... once you get to the wall thats it. And Idk why, the exe wont run, (I used jarsplice to create it, runs fine on my machine) AMD FX8350 ATI HD5770 32Gb RAM...

kurrik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:20am

The effect would work really well in a fleshed out game. Kind of wonder why the download is 27 megs :)

Teejay5 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:04am

It doesn't open for me; it says "Couldnt find the main class: ca.cognizantgames''.game.Main. Program will now exit"

May 7, 2013 @ 12:19pm

@kurrik I have a lot of compiled code there thats not implemented - and now is, and also the libraries.... I didn't clean that up. and @Teejay5 what binary were you using ?

May 8, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I couldn't get this to run on Win7:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ca/cognizantgamestudios/game/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

May 9, 2013 @ 2:26am

@1WeekEndStudio, you need to use Java 7 that exception occurs when you are using Java 1.6 or lower

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Unfortunately, this game is quite obviously unfinished. The exe didn't run on my windows machine, so I just ran the jar. The idea seems interesting - a randomly generated platformer with physics and realistic lighting. The shadow effect was impressive.

May 11, 2013 @ 12:12am

@JonathanG, Yeah I only had 2 hours after to submit the game, but I am continuing development on it, and posting all of it on GameJolt

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]