April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Choose Defense (TD)

by fogelvisch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DEFEND some Random Kingdom against
the mighty Potato...

Be careful the Potato can use Magic...
and can potato your fields, which makes them
really potato...
but doesnt look like potato...
strange _:_

Compiled with JDK 7 (need Java to run)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#389Humor2.50
#908Fun2.60
#1008Audio1.72
#1036Graphics2.39
#1120Mood2.22
#1152Overall2.53
#1285Innovation1.90
#1343Theme2.10

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56pm

It bugged out on the second level and I couldn't place towers anymore :(

It's a tower defense game. Those are still basically fun. I appreciate the humor(?). It could use something crazy. Liek a dog. Or peanuts.

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Pretty interesting tower defense game. I don't know why, but I couldn't get the blue diamond thing to slow down enemies, though.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07pm

I had a bug on the 2nd level and couldn't place any more towers :(

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Fun art. Liked lasers. On the downside it's quite buggy.

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Not a bad tower defense game. Placing towers can be glitchy at best. On the second level after several waves, there are these gold crowed toaster pastry looking guys that I couldn't even kill one of. It was fun until I got completely owned by the crown guys, humorous too.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28pm

The concept is actually quite good. But the game get pretty quickly very boring. Maybe something to increase the game duration is needed ?

fogelvisch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38pm

To build the frost tower pick the Item and place them in the tower active tower slots left from the Trash Can

so the items in the pandashop became part of your active item Slots ( upgrade wont become a tower // just goes away + passiv bonus to all tower will be applied)

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:03am

cool graphics ^-)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:34am

Ran into an apparent bug after the first wave of the second level several times. No more waves would ever come, forcing me to restart the game.

fogelvisch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

Yeah i know _:_
the game already had some know bugs when i posted it,
just not enough time to fix them and then in addition to those bugs i didnt know.
But i wont fix them cause this is exactly what i made in 48 hours

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:19am

i liked the game, but i had decent problems placing the towers

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:22am

Nice tower defence game and I appreciate the humor.

The game need some polish though:
- The game pace is a bit slow (and I would love a fast-foward button).
- The UI need to be improved (trashCan button?) and seems bugged: I can't place any tower after playing some levels.
- no audio

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:29am

Pretty funny game. The interface at the bottom was a little difficult to understand (only the top two options are active).

Tainted_Code says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Placing towers is extremely hard :s looks like a great game though! :(

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I liked the evil Mr potato head.

alcazar says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Nice Job :)

burtlo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:30pm

On my Mac, I got an error:

```
$ java -jar ChooseDefense2.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: basic/Frame : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:249)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:56)
```

fogelvisch says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:29pm

strange....

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I liked the silliness of the game, but I had issues with the interface when trying to place towers. I managed to place a few laser towers, but after the first level I could no longer place anything. With some more work it could be quite a charming tower defense game. Could do with some audio too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]