April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nothing is Impossible

by Zekyon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Nothing is Impossible is a minimalist-platform game in which you must control two characters in a split-screen while try dodge the boxes and stakes that you will find along the way.

The difficulty of this game is very hard, but I swear is possible complete all the levels, so don't give up!.

Ok, I deleted the web version because this was unplayable thanks and sorry for the inconvenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#413Humor2.45
#530Graphics3.06
#543Innovation3.13
#639Mood2.79
#721Overall3.00
#732Theme3.36
#769Audio2.34
#861Fun2.66

Comments

Xellinus says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Nice concept. Sounds hurt my ears. =(

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16am

Xellinus, yeah, this was my first time composing music.
But however, thx for the feedback!

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

Very difficult! Hardcore game :D

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08am

yeah, very hard game!
I really like the graphics!

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08am

Very frustrating, but a nice idea. :)

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10am

Haha, this game is so freaking hard. xD
I really like it, but it's a shame I'll never ever complete it!

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11am

This game is terrible, can't aim to crounch and then jump at one part of the level... Nice Job!

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Freaking hard!! but good :)

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Game is pretty bad, nice idea and nice concept but the collision detection is abysmal, I couldn't reach past 10-15 seconds of gameplay, it simply didn't work as I kept crashing everywhere

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37pm

I love the visual design. I didn't get very far though; it feels like you could stand to be a bit more forgiving with the collision detection.

I actually liked the minimal music box-style soundtrack.

karlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42pm

The game was a little too difficult for me but it has a lovely art style, a nice concept and fits the theme really well.

Would be great if you could release an "easy mode" which either runs slower or has a smaller character.

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

As the game title said,
"NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE
.
.
EXCEPT THIS FUCKING GAME".
It's hardcore but has got a minimalistic palette, also minimalistic controls and minimalistic goal.
Graphics are neat, sounds.. >.< Good "first try" :D

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Thanks for the feedbacks people!

Morgawr: The colliders aren't bad (at least in the windows version) is very likely one of the two character collided and you didn't see it.

And the game is perfectly possible of "complete" you only need patience :)!

Mesene says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Whoa, so hard! you should made a video gameplay. Nice game!

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I like the difficulty and graphics, though the sound isn't up to those crsip graphics, but overall great :)

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Awesome game, loving the crouch animation. xD

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Whoever plays this game will at least want to punch a wall or something...It's really good go play it

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I have completed games... but none has been so fricking unfair!
Well the title didn't promise too much...
Other than that well made.

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Very good, provides a nice, difficult challenge, and certainly fits the theme.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Wow. Hard! Nice job.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

This is frustrating. Good thing I'm drunk.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I'd love to give this a try, but the Mac version just closes on launch.

BipoleMoment says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

The Linux version won't even open.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Nice job, that game is really difficult! I like the concept but if both characters are doing exactingly the same actions then you might as well just show the obstacles on the same screen. In other words the core game mechanic of having 2 separate characters isn't adding anything to the actual gameplay. You need to make the characters do different things for this mechanic to make sense. For example maybe you could make it so when you jump on one screen the other character ducks and vice versa.

protensity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Contrary to the title, this game seems to be, in fact, impossible.

I like how it meets the theme and I also like the neat twist on the "auto runner" genre. I'd like to see that fleshed out.

Collision detection and seemingly impossible combinations are the downside.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

This is a cool concept but bad collisions really ruin it. Also, the sound effects drill into my brain...

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09am

Fun and difficult.

The OSX app didn't work when double-clicked; I had to do the following:

$ cd Nothing Is Impossible - LD26.app/Contents/MacOS
$ chmod +x Game\ LD
$ ./Game\ LD

May 1, 2013 @ 8:14pm

So hard, funny graphics and cool game :)

CogentInvalid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:01am

My high score is 18.

Tom 7 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I like this much better than most jumpy-dodge games! It's an interesting interaction between the two characters, especially when one lands on a SAFE brick. I found it really hard, though. I didn't get that far and I was confused about why the levels would change; are they random?

Lafolie says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:47am

The music was too loud, though it sounded ok. Appropriately titled! High score would have been cool. Very fun.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:53am

I really love the split screen where you have to watch both simultaneously. There's a lot of parallel world games where you shift from one to the other, but it's cool to work within both simultaneously. I swear there were some puzzle configurations that can't be beat :)

JustinMullin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:40pm

This is SO hard. But that's the point then, isn't it?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]