April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Psyniter

by Frosnite - Jam Entry

BUG: The item that allows you to pick up add-ons is invisible if you are playing the web version (chrome). Will try to fix this today!

Psyniter: A minimalist game made in about 60h of combined labour in a team of 2 (Psykos3 and Frosnite)

Hints:

Kill the enemies, grab some add-ons (power-ups) and energy dots, explore the level, find the exit, stay alive!


Wow, what a ride!

I should say the game is about 75% finished and hasn't been tested very much, so expect an abrupt ending and some bugs every now and then. Its was our first Ludum Dare and we liked it a lot! Looking forward to the next! We have been working for 3 days on this game and its been quite hard near the finish line, but overall, its been fun. I'm very tired right now, as most people must be after 72h of intense game making :P.

It was made using Construct 2 Personal Edition, Paint.net, Audacity, all sounds we're recorded using a cheap mic and my classical guitar.

All in all, 12 Coffees and 2 energy drink in 3 days to make this uncompleted game :P.


<< POSSIBLY SOME SPOILERS DOWN THERE ! ! ! >>

-

-

-

-

Use the arrow keys to move, the left click to drop add-ons and right click to fire when you find weapons.

All enemies die in 1 shot. You begin with 50 hp and 20 bullets. Each blue dots give you 1 hp, 1 bullet and 1 shield for a maximum of 100hp and 100 shield. No maximum bullets. There are no numbers nor bars for you to rely on. The more transparent something is, the less hp/bullets/shield it has.

There are 7 working add-ons you can find, hundreds of energy dots and enemies, layout is 12K x 7K pixels big, there are 13 intersections and 6 "secret" areas to explore.

I hope links are working now! Also, I had trouble with exporting my project with Construct 2, but looks like its fixed now.


BUGS:

- The Web-HTML5 (chrome) version has a a visual bug where you cannot see the add-on item with slots around. You are supposed to find it in the middle of the first intersection you cross at the beginning.

- Some add-ons needs some tweaking to make them work correctly.

- Enemies near the exit just somehow disappeared making it too easy to complete the game :(.

- The shield add-on does not updates its opacity according to its shield level + doesn't work as it should :S.


Enjoy and thank you for your time! Every comment is appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#194Theme(Jam)3.50
#241Humor(Jam)2.27
#273Graphics(Jam)3.18
#281Overall(Jam)3.11
#293Audio(Jam)2.85
#317Fun(Jam)2.79
#344Innovation(Jam)2.74
#368Mood(Jam)2.65

Comments

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

Gosh, my links are not working... great.

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06am

Guys, don't bother downloading right now, its my first time exporting a Construct 2 Standalone game... should have definitely tested it before.

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

Dumb fail... I had forgotten to delete my Testing layout...

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58am

That's what happens when you skip the testing phase... found 3 game breaking bug in 10min of testing.

Well, I've learned my lesson for the next Ludum Dare! :D

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59am

Nice! I like the guitar sounds and the flowing background. Ran fine in Chrome. Would like to hear some music and see a score or some other type of objective. Thanks for sharing!

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Thanks :D. In fact, there's a music add-on you can find somewhere :P. I kept it very simple though.

Komradus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46pm

That was pretty cool, especially liked the graphics.

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

I thought some parts of this were very nifty, at first I was afraid of everything but then I realized I could keep my health up and still run through lots of guys to kill them. I thought the way you picked up things and they went along with you (like the the shield looking basket thing) was handled well. The graphics were also done well in keeping with the minimalism theme. Nicely done.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

It seems to work fine on HTML5, I kinda like it.

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

i liked most of the audio. I smashed into the walls just to make some sounds :P. Cool game :).

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Nice game! Liked it a lot!

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

It had a feeling of 1st person desktop tower defense. Loved the art and the game play. I would love to see the last 25%.

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Thank you very much! These comments make up for all what we've been through to get this game on here! Although only 2 more hours of design would have been great to test it and get rid of some nasty visual bugs, better porting and a better ending. I'm glad how it came out and I will definitely make more games on LD in the coming months!

Cheers!

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32pm

What a nice little game! The background flashes a bit much for my taste (that can also be because of my slow machine) - but the mechanics are interesting and the art style is just great. It's like a shoot-em-up but with exploration stuff mixed in. Great fun to play!

Just a quick note on the game engine you used:

Funnily enough, the HTML5 version works better for me than the 64-bit Linux version. The Linux version of your game is a 73 megabyte binary, which is just absurd - this is far far faaaaaar bigger than anything else on my system. It seems that this Construct thing bundles your game with a complete version of Chrome (i.e. the Linux download is actually a complete Chrome browser that only runs your game) - but they mess it up somehow, since my own Chrome runs the game much faster than the one in the bundle. It's probably the same story for the windows binaries.

What I'm trying to say is: I don't think you have to bother with the binary exports in the future - it's just a huge useless download, because we already have browsers. :-)

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:27am

I like this game. Very funny. Congrats, man. So, please play and rate my game. When you visited the link was broken, now is fixed. Thank you.

7Soul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I think the game is not working properly right now. I tested the chrome version, and seems like I can't pick up those square things (the music note and theres a triangle) and the mouse buttons dont do anything

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Nice presentation, but to be honest i didn't understand what i supposed to do

Stuffie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Really cool little game, I like the audio and how it tied with the game well. The only thing I found is that I couldn't figure out how to shoot until half way in, but I'm guessing that's because I was playing on chrome and missed some of the UI. Great job overall though :).

ohsqueezy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Fun add-ons with an expansive world to explore, part traditional, part experimental. I especially had fun driving with the extra speed from the jet add-ons. Great game!

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:16am

Nice effects, especially shield :) Really minimalistic

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:06am

Mouse buttons don't seem to do anything for me either, I'm on chrome.

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Fun game - I liked the audio a lot. We had the same idea of using a guitar for all the sounds :P The background wave effect was very cool and the upgrades were good - though I wasn't sure what they all did. The music powerup was the best :) I didn't realise until half way through that right click was shoot, which made the air blast enemies impossible to get past. All in all though, very good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]