April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini male

by ayamflow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Alright ! Time to submit.
This was my first LD and I had a really hard time finding an idea. I developped this game in ~5h sunday because I couldn't find a funny game concept. I'm a bit bored so here it comes :

You are the tiny white-ish block. You can (double) jump with C, shoot with X and move/aim with the arrows. The ennemies are black blocks wich get bigger with difficulty. Shoot'em to shrink'em !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#496Fun3.05
#816Audio2.25
#856Theme3.22
#1045Overall2.68
#1070Graphics2.33
#1162Innovation2.18
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

haha brutal, basic more than minimal I'd say, and I liked it way more than I thought I was going to!

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53am

Fun little shooter :)

FredericRP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

Very addictive, even if I last until difficulty 12 only (because I have a job, you know ;) )
A little to easy I think, there's not really a challenge, but it's very well done, esp. for your first LD !

smealum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:02pm

neat little game but it felt much too easy; there's not real need to move around or anything, just stay against a wall with X held down and you're pretty much guaranteed you'll win. that said, this is a good start and i'm sure you could easily make it more challenging. :)

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Surprisingly fun! I picture a swarm of zombies trying to eat your brain :D The pace is very frantic and exciting! Nice job!

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Pretty easy, but nice concept and satisfying sound effects and explosions :)

May 3, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Wasn't sure if I was playing the wrong way, but I ended up just standing still near a wall and holding down the shoot button. I can see how this could become a pretty neat platforming/megaman style survival game though.

-Strega

(this is a team account)

maloki says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I agree with what smealum said. The spawn sometimes is a little too close to the player. That aside, it's pretty cool and the sound is quite satisfying when taking out the enemies. :D

WiseGAMER says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Nice game, I liked the simple and fun gameplay

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]