April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

WALK

by Nonameghost - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YOUTUBE VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBaTMrb533Q

==

NOTE: I didn't get time to optimize, so the web version *might* play slow. If it's annoyingly slow, please try the native versions.

NOTENOTE: DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME ON FASTEST OR FAST. Good or above should be fine. In my lack of playtesting I made the stupid mistake of making speed relative to framerate. That's causing the web slowdown. So please, if you play and you're moving at 100mph, just restart and increase quality :3

==

My unfinished experiment. A game about breaking out of loops and mediocrity. Also a meta-game about a game. 3RD level is broken... so if you get to the colored platforms, you win :P

This was a fun Jam and I learned a lot about Unity. Even though I thought I knew everything I needed, Unity threw some curveballs.

Thanks to @Lexaloffles for Voxatron, which I used to make the character. And blender and unity and pandora and chocolate.

NOTE: This game is not very intuitive. You're meant to be stuck. Try to look around. Try every option. The game will break. Most likely this is good. If you really get stuck, go to this link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBaTMrb533Q

Please let me know if you get to the end, sort of as an experiment XD


Anyway, thanks for playing and thanks to all of you for making this a fun weekend!


PS. I'm serious, look around, there's more game somewhere in there :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#455Mood3.00
#567Humor2.21
#569Graphics3.00
#603Theme3.49
#640Innovation3.02
#812Overall2.93
#1054Audio1.44
#1107Fun2.31

Comments

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

Pretty fun! Add some treasure chest and other items to pick up and it will be a fun game. Really fits the theme :)

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

Thanks! There was a lot more planned but obviously did not get done. But there are in fact 3 separate stages.

Hint: There's a suspicious amount of space behind the left wall.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

I like the metaphor in this game. The collision detection is a little jitter, but it doesn't matter at all.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

great use of theme, nice experience :) Great job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16am

Quite good despite few issues here and there! Suits the theme too.
I made a game along similar lines of the cyclical trap of the daily routine.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:47am

I like breaking the rules, haha!

The first few times were wierd, just walking to work, and then the game would restart. Then I started exploring, and that was fun!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I like where you are going with this. It does REALLY need the planned expansion though. Oh, and in the second level I just fell infinitely. That might qualify as a typo for fixing purposes >_>

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

I can fix the infinite falling. Also the restarting on the first level is caused by getting hit by the "cars". Thanks for playing :P

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Love the aesthetics.

PhilZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I don't understand the game.

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Good work, the linux x86 build ran nicely.
I enjoyed the narrative!

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Cool stuff. Definitely needed the walkthrough youtube video. A good start! Keep up the great work.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

I like the idea of this game. Breaking the mold and doing something different is cool.

With more time you could polish this up and make it even better. Also, restarting level two because of a missed jump got a bit frustrating

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:25am

Nice game, damn cars on the street, I don't want to stooop! great job! just missing some audio.

Leginar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:31am

This game has potential but needs a bit of polish. I fell off of the world quite often, and I spent a very long time going back and forth from work before I even realized I could jump. I'd love to see this game with a bit more shine. :)

GameNacho says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:22am

Pretty cool game, it seems simple on the surface but is also very engaging, good job!

karsyf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:40am

That was interesting =D I like the concept of disobeying the rules or doing something counter-intuitive, like Antichamber. If you made a more polished version with more stuff in it I'd play it.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:20pm

What is beyond the colored keys?
Now I'm intrigued for more.
Good job.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Great design. I like the leaps of faith in the second level. Thanks for Voxatron pointer. Got stuck at don't you get it.

pjchardt says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:40am

Interesting. Played the web version, did not have any problems with frame rate or player speed. Some interesting challenges in terms of perceived rules of the game. Would like to see it taken further.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Nice game that is kinda inspired by : Every day the same dream.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Fun and interesting! There are a few ways to fall off forever, but it works otherwise!

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:13am

At many times I thought I was breaking the game until I actually did. Nice little experiment :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]