April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Triage: The life of a combat medic.

by anjack - Jam Entry

Triage: Life of a Combat Medic is my first game. I created it using the Unity3D Pro trial key offered on the Ludum Dare "Tools" page. The models and terrain were created within Unity and the textures were created with The GIMP. Coding was done in Mono Develop. I also used NFOPad for some text editing.

UPDATE: Added ambient sounds for the battlefield and city scenes! These were made using Audacity.

UPDATE 2: The game should now properly identify when a patient has died.

UPDATE 3: Added a link to the source. I basically just zipped up all the files in the project directory, so you get the assets as well.

UPDATE 4: Added a Jam version to fix a few issues.

Here are a few known bugs:

* Some of the text is off-center. I'll work on that.
* Sometimes wounds will overlap or obscure one another. You can still win a level even if a patient dies.
* Sometimes the "Patient is stable" message doesn't appear even though you've clicked on all of the wounds. I'll fix this.
* There are a few places where you can bug through the terrain/walls and walk off the edge of the map. I'm okay with that. ;)
* If you don't save SAM, the wrong dialog will display the next time you enter the city.

Still no score tracking. I hope to have it for the jam version.

Also, I didn't state it in the instructions (included in the game menu system) but there is a time limit to heal each patient. As a patient's timer runs down, the window background will change to yellow and then red. If it's red, then you have less than 30 seconds to heal them.


Please let me know if you observe any additional bugs, or if the game doesn't play properly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#164Innovation(Jam)3.31
#169Mood(Jam)3.29
#336Humor(Jam)1.90
#353Overall(Jam)2.92
#386Audio(Jam)2.29
#429Theme(Jam)2.76
#466Fun(Jam)2.30
#485Graphics(Jam)2.37
#713Mood2.73
#855Innovation2.73
#1056Overall2.67
#1227Fun2.07
#1234Graphics2.07
#1311Theme2.33

Comments

anjack says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Oops, I said "the Unity3D Pro trial key offered on the Ludum Dare "Tools" page", but it was actually on the "Deals" page.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:26am

Updated to include sound! (ambient sounds only)

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:39am

Delightfully dark! I felt overcome with nietzschean existential despair whilst playing this. Full marks.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

@Dusty: Thank you very much! I was worried that it might be too depressing.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Nice mechanic for saving the patients! I felt very bad when i let the first one die...

grimpunch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

I liked it. :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

A: I am red/green colourblind. The gameplay is an exercise in the utmost frustration for me :(
B: When the buttons pile up on eachother they cannot be clicked.

Other than that, very good concept and use of the theme. A proper emotional game.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Thank you for the feedback!

@nintendoeats: I was so focused on rushing to complete the game that I didn't think how it would affect colorblind individuals. I've added a link to a "Jam" version which uses shapes and text to denote healed wounds and critical patients. Hopefully this makes the game more playable.

ming_tea says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

I really liked this. Great take on the theme!

aneeslol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:38am

Very interesting monologue. Clicking things fast is also fun! :)

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:47am

Awesome. This game is so complex and simple at the same time. I give it an A+. The only thing that I would change, would be to close the surgery window after healing. It felt like a pain to have to move to close it, afterwards. Good job.

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01am

I like the concept. But I think you need evolve this gameplay. It's a great idea. Congrats!

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:24am

Very, very cool use of real world concepts! I googled triage after reading the instructions, wow. Heavy stuff. I also definitely liked the game mechanics! Simple, and the effect of losing a life is portrayed pretty powerfully.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Pretty interesting idea, and I liked playing it, but I was a bit disappointed that I didn't actually perform triage, as there was no way to see which soldiers we're less likely to live.

anjack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:02am

Thank you all for your feedback! I appreciate all of your comments and suggestions!

@Ray_Mickelino: Yeah, a couple of my friends have commented on that. I didn't realize how inconvenient it was until I played it a few more times myself. I'll definitely keep this sort of thing in mind for future games.

@SquaredMuffin: The original idea was to give each soldier a different number of wounds and have them "bleed out" more quickly with more wounds. However, as time progressed I felt that I wouldn't be able to complete the game if I spent too much time trying to implement that functionality. Hopefully as I gain more experience with game development (this was my first) I'll be able to implement features more quickly.

woftles says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:33am

Maybe it's just me but fun was one of the largest parts of this game, the lack of sound and mood and poor graphics however detracted from that a lot, the game had an interesting mechanic but seemed overall to drag on with no end-goal.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Very thought provoking. Simple graphics. Nice interface EXCEPT pressing escape to remove text before carrying on moving... that interferes with flow of game I think.

Felix20 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Seems a little rough around the edges, the healing mechanic isn't very fun or challenging.
The graphics aren't too appealing, but they aren't too bad.
It was a nice take on the theme though.
It's a nice concept but it still has a ways to go.

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I agree that the actual game mechanic isn't too fun, and it ends up sort of seeming like work after a few rounds. It's very artistic and it has an interesting subject. Good job for 48 hours!

May 9, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Very great mood.

Super Hamster says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Very nice idea, it would have been nice to have a timer to show how much time you had left.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]