April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tic Toc Tac Toe

by delfino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beat the computer and the clock in this old classic taken to the next dimension: Tic Toc Tac Toe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#231Overall3.52
#249Theme3.88
#359Fun3.20
#430Innovation3.28
#607Graphics2.96
#824Mood2.61
#916Humor1.75
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Could be a bit harder, but it's fun!

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Very awesome. It is a bit of a shame that it is so easy. Maybe you should make it so that 90% of the time the computer plays the perfect move

CNIAngel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

This is rather well executed. I love everything with this game. It's challenging, but you can win as long as you're fast enough. Good work.

delfino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18am

Thanks for the feedback! Based on what people have said about it being too easy, I've made a different version with better AI. After the judging is over, I'll post the link.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

Love the aesthetic and love the piece of art you always end up with

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

Clever. It glitches out my mouse a bit, but the gameplay was good.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58am

I could spend so much time playing this. Really want this on my phone. Good job.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01am

Nice game. I don't think it needs to be easier. Tic tac toe is a solved game so there isn't a lot of challenge to get to a draw against a perfect AI.

nathanj439 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

I really like the style of the game. The graphics are minimal but the contrast of the colors really looks nice. I also agree that it should be a tad bit harder. Right now I can randomly click and win most of the time on the first three boards.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Haha, took a while to figure out the squares built a larger board, like the meta mechanic. :D

Jarrett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:02am

Now we just need a 3x3 of this :)

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Well if you know the one good "strategy" to Tic Tac Toe you can pretty easily beat this.

Hectate says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:39pm

This would be interesting if there was more strategy in determining where you could place your next one other than just "in any active place". That said, it's a really cool idea nonetheless.

Super Hamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:45am

Hello fellow tictactoe recreater. I like your tic-tac-toe-ception.

DaveDobson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Interesting idea - I didn't really figure it out until my second go-round, but then I won, and I think I always would, because it's easy to win on the diagonals. I like the gray-on-gray look and the layout - very cool and intuitive.

mildmojo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Using the grid lines as timers is brilliant. Excellent micro/macro mechanic with lickable presentation. I do wish the opponent was a little smarter or the game sped up sooner, but I love it as-is.

May 9, 2013 @ 8:06am

Wow, once I won it very nearly broke my brain. I somehow didn't expect that I was supposed to form a line of victorious boards to win completely.

Like others mentioned the game AI is very easy to beat, which is probably for the best given how TicTacToe almost certainly ends in a draw with two contestants who know what they're doing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]