April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Wait for it... NOW!

by visibleatom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a circle of color in a Mondrian landscape. While you are in a friendly color, you are tolerated but can still be captured by the Sweepers. If you are in an unfriendly zone, the Sweepers will hunt you down actively.

There were a bunch of mechanics that I experimented with during this time and in the end I always came back to this one. I wish some of my other mechanics had worked out, as I spent a lot of time implementing them (like rescues).

This was my first LD submission. Created using Unity3D and a lot of C#.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#467Innovation3.23
#863Theme3.21
#906Audio2.09
#926Humor1.73
#1048Fun2.41
#1074Overall2.65
#1103Mood2.25
#1197Graphics2.13

Comments

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

I also posted a video showing the progression of the game, at http://youtu.be/0M3Bm7PcDUg

Also, undocumented feature: press + to spawn more color zones.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

I have no idea what's going on (other than that someone is not ready yet) and the Sweepers are way too fast for me to react. The death screen graphics are okay, though.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

Alright, let me try a small tutorial:

Sweeper coming at you. You don't want to be hit by sweeper, so press W. That will make you choose a new spot to be on. A little black nub will show up on you telling you where you're aiming, and you'll slowly shift colors to match what you're aiming at.

Once you have completely changed colors, Click, and you'll be teleported to that spot.

So, W to select a random target, click to jump to it.

So 5 things:
1) Changing colors is not automatic, so every time you press W, expect to only have a jump ready in 2 seconds.
2) ALL Sweepers on the board will change directions and head towards you when you have finished shifting colors
3) You pick a target at random.
4) While shifting colors, Sweepers are in 'sweep' mode (white) and will sweep in whatever direction they were originally headed.
5) You can choose a new target at any time.


That's the basic gameplay. Q allows for some strategizing, as you can re-shuffle the positions, in case you don't like the board as it is. You can shuffle both while hidden as well as while you're targeted to another zone.

Sorry that they're so fast. I thought they might be too slow. Clearly I should've accounted for dev-difficulty :(

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

But hey, thanks for playing! :)

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

Finally I got the idea. But admittedly it's a bit complex.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

I can think of many ways that I can make this a better game. Maybe not making the teleportation target random, but then also allowing for more sweepers at once, would be a big improvement. I shall keep developing it (although it won't be in the LD links).

Argh. But keep commenting, even if it's nasty. I don't mind.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Really hard, but not necessarily in a bad way. I liked it.

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

Great one for a first ludum dare entry. Could be a bit easier, giving more time to react.

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

Smooth presentation in terms of the graphics, but the UI was cluttered. All the text in the menu right off the bat with graphics on screen was overwhelming. Dig the Mondrian theme :)

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

I really like the mechanic you came up with. At first you see and try to understand, and you cant. But little by little, the rules unfold themselves until you understand how the game works. :D It could be more polished in the interface aspect. A timer in-game to see how you're doing, a catchy tune and a good font. I hope you keep working on this.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43pm

It took me a little while to understand what to do, but it's quite neat!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

I like the idea of hiding in the zones by matching their colour, and it is quite satisfying when you successfully evade the sweepers. Trying to keep where you are, where the sweepers are, if they are targeting you and where you are going to jump to in mind, all while the map keeps shifting is really difficult right off the bat, though. Starting off easier and then ramping the difficulty up over time would help a lot!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I like the visual cue for the different sweeper modes. It wasn't too hard to figure out after I read the directions fully. I skipped over the bottom text the first read through. I got to 50 seconds a few times but don't have any incentive to try harder. Good job with the theme!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

After a couple of reads I got the hang of the game and I've found it original, challenging and really entertaining, well done!

Just one minor issue: I'm currently playing it on a laptop at 1280x720 resolution and I've had to lower the zoom on THE Chrome so that I could see the whole game screen (earlier today I'd tested it on a higher resolution and it was OK).

NuSan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Interesting mecanics, pretty confusing at first. Maybe using the mouse to select the next zone would be more intuitiv. But it's very cool and realy use the theme. The death sound is a bit aggressiv, expectialy if you die a lot ^^

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

once I figured out how to play it I had a lot of fun. Great sound design and it fits well with the theme.

whiteravens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52am

I don't get the game at all, sorry :(. Tried tinkering around a bit longer, but no progress, and I really can't grasp it.

miharbi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Once I figured out what was going on the game was actually quite fun.

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:20am

Very smart your game. Please, play and rate my game, when you visited the link was broken, now is fixed. Thank you.

gameXcore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I really didn't get it either, it seemed when I had a move planned I was just told "Not ready yet", but I have no idea why. Also, eventually I muted the game!

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:10pm

A little bit hard to grasp the mechanics but once you get it the game becomes quite challenging! good job!

hgouveia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42pm

to be honest, i didn't understand, i know i supposed to change zone and survive, but i didn't get it i was distract with all was going on, i like it but is hard to understand , and it seems to be very well thought, :D

jadams says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:53pm

The web version and the windows build are different. It's virtually unplayable with the windows version as the lines are super fast.

I quite enjoyed the game on the web however.

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:08am

Interesting mechanic!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]