April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Man from the Docks

by TheDanielBerry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I personally hated this theme so I ignored it. Basically I made an adventure game. You must defeat Ian before he uses your girlfriend Sarah to delete all of reality. This action packed rpg includes pirates, knights, sailing, two unique boss fights, and a quirky soundtrack. Also remember to keep your expectations low because its still a crap story, but pretty decent gameplay. *Note - If a place will not open on the map then you have not unlocked it yet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#381Humor2.52
#853Audio2.19
#864Fun2.65
#929Overall2.82
#1011Mood2.39
#1066Graphics2.34
#1181Innovation2.15
#1311Theme2.33

Comments

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:12am

cool game and really much content for 48 hours. well done!

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:15am

Loving the presentation. Would it be possible to map the movement to the arrow keys, perhaps? I need to sleep for now but will hopefully play more tomorrow.

*spoiler alert*

---

---

---

Right now I've gotten up to the ship to leave for the Devil's Dome. I move the square to it and press shift, but nothing seems to happen. Same for the other areas... am I doing something wrong?

May 1, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Tyro >> You have to get a sword from the king before you can leave to Baduz.

Adipson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Very fun ! i like congratulations !

May 1, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Nice little twist on the theme.

wy477wh173 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Can't seem to go to other areas, got sword, but selecting another spot just brings me back to the docks. Other than that I enjoyed it. The Lost refernce made me lol

TheColorMan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Seems good and all but every time I entered a new island I would get stuck moving in the direction I was moving when I got there. Still great work.

ZYXer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I really like the style of this game.

I got the sword from the king but i still cannot select a destination to travel with the boat. What key do I have to press to select a destination?

docix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:36am

A ton of content for 48 hours! Nice work! Got to the end, but the boss's zombie guys got me!

bowlercaptain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:25am

The music was very annoying. The collisions felt 'sticky.' The second boss was cool, but the first one was pretty boring. I would have liked some indication that I was damaging the second boss, though. I wasn't sure if what I was doing was right, and then suddenly it said 'You win!' and I was like 'Okay...'

May 2, 2013 @ 2:31am

The game seemed fun, but the little girl moved so slowly that it made the game unplayable for me... Very likely due to my slow computer that I have to run at minimal speed. I didn't rate it since I didn't want to rate what I didn't fully play, and I think I really would have enjoyed it otherwise, for what it's worth :D

May 2, 2013 @ 2:45am

DOH!!!! I can't edit that, but I totally placed it on the wrong game, I'm so sorry!!!!! :( I thought it was hilarious, and totally agreed on the Lost comment. Also the "tall grass" reference :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:48am

nice game -- especially for 48 hours -- only down side is i think i will have you tune in my head for all eternity -- aaarrrggghhhh -- nice job!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:58am

Music is extremely repetitive and annoying. Wish I could just walk into the exits to leave a room rather than pressing shift (which, when combined with awsd only for movement, are terrible hotkeys). It wasn't clear at all if I was damaging the second boss, or even what the wand did at all. Eventually I guessed that it must be a beam attack, and sure enough eventually I beat the second boss, but still. It seemed like there was some kind of cooldown, but I couldn't really tell. It really just seemed like sometimes I would press it and it would do nothing, and other times if I mashed it a beam would fire upward. Not that I knew what the beam did. The same pretty much goes for the enemies. Once you figured out how to basically get them all on the same vertical level, you just kinda stood in one placed and mashed spacebar (even on the first boss). There really wasn't all that much content, but for 48 hours it certainly wasn't bad. Gotta say it's kinda lame that you just ignored the theme though :P

Enough criticisms, I actually enjoyed the game quite a bit. Even though the last boss fight was kind of confusing, it was still pretty damn fun. Once I accepted that the beam must be dealing damage, it became a fairly intense battle of fending off the hordes of zombies while aiming and timing my blast of light correctly. I think if you took the quirky component of the music and simply extended it, say, 1 minute loops rather than the 5 or 10 seconds or whatever they are, the soundtrack would actually be pretty sweet. The "mspaint" style graphics are actually appealing to a lot of people, I just wish they had animations, even crappy ones. A flash of red and a sound effect when you hurt something and when you get hurt, slight "doodads" and variations in the environment, little animations here and there, these things go a long way to polish the game and make it "feel" more responsive and alive. The game honestly reminds me a lot of a game I used to love to play when I was younger called "Well of Souls" by Synthetic Reality (link below if you don't know it). I mean this as a great compliment.

With quite a bit of polish and more content and some more mechanics, this could actually be a really sweet game. You should definitely continue working on it. Lots of people (myself included) actually really crave these kinds of quirky games. Overall, well done.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:09am

woops realized I never gave you that link haha http://www.synthetic-reality.com/wosHome.htm

May 3, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Thanks for the support and recommendations. I am planning on recreating this game with a similar story, but as a feature length game with proper mechanics.

TheFudster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:36am

Mac version just sat at a black screen :(

May 5, 2013 @ 9:36pm

On my laptop (Win XP, 32bit) there's just a black screen as well. :(

messiano says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:54am

Indeed, music wasn't great but overall I enjoyed the game, nice content for the competition!

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Pretty much a complete RPG in 48 hours? Hats off to you, sir!

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I liked the story elements and getting to travel to different locations. It would be nice to see some indicator for how charged the rod is. Nice use of a riddle. Cool adventure!

Coil_Whine says ...
Nov 9, 2013 @ 5:49am

I really didn't like it. I do applaud your effort though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]