April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spaceship builder

by Team Castor - Jam Entry

Build an incredible space ship with as little money as possible, and with this mini-ship travel across the stars to deliver your cargo!

We hope you will enjoy the game :)

We will post very soon a link for a tutorial in the web.

Mac version is coming soon (probably).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#122Innovation(Jam)3.43
#205Humor(Jam)2.41
#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#245Overall(Jam)3.21
#313Mood(Jam)2.79
#348Audio(Jam)2.61
#380Graphics(Jam)2.81
#418Theme(Jam)2.81

Comments

NiftyLlama says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

The file isn't there.

Team Castor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Sorry for this, the link is now correct…

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Really ambitious, and it partly succeeds. I think you tried to do too much here. Still, impressive.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I like this a lot. It is kind of a cross between a board game called "Galaxy Truckers" (Which I love) and FTL (Which I love) :) Great idea and I think you did a good job :) I went a different direction with my theme but wish I had done something space related now! Still, I managed to fit in an astronaut at least :D

Team Castor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

We don't know FTL, but you are true, there is a bit of Galaxy trucker in this game, even if we don't plan that at the start :)

Griz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Reminds me of the "Stratosphere conquest of the skies" pc game from the 1998. Big dose of randomness made it hard to win just this one round, but the gameplay quality made up for it. Well done.

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:36am

I swear I heard that sample in Gemini Rue just the other day.

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46am

really cool idea. a lot like galaxy trucker

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

The spaceship editor looked really nice. Still I missed a lot of feedback during the game. I took some time to figure out what was going on. Graphics looked awesome.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

This is a great combination! Making the created thing go through a mini-roduelike makes it much more interesting

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Pretty neat game. I really like management type games and you've got something good started here

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I have a dual-screen and the items popups shows on the right screen even if the game is on the left one. Made it nearly impossible to play for me (I could put the main window on the right screen but it will tire my neck quickly)

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Interesting concept - would've liked more simplified UI/graphics - it was difficult to tell during the build stage what parts were selected for building, and the windows progress bar ui for the money made me think the program was still loading. It also kicked me out of the program after I lost rather than returning to the first screen.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Awesome game! One of the best I saw here - very original concept, easy gameplay and fun with building a real fancy ship. It is somewhat similar to FTL (quite good game). I didn't finish it though, I always had problems with food.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Impressive amount of content. As DesignerNap said, it really reminds of FTL.

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Neat game, but rather confusing on the first go.

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Really interesting game. If you made the rules behind each module more clear ahead of time it would be a really solid game. Consider making a board game version of it with randomized event cards and releasing it on The Game Crafter.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Very confusing at the beggining. A tutorial or something alike would be nice.

goerp says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Ha this isn't what I expected. It's a sort of mininmalistic FTL.
Funny starting picture.
I like it. Seems like something you can add a lot too. If you do, make it with some animations or maybe it looks too much like FTL then).

GingerMess says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:42am

There's an impressive amount of stuff in this, and as someone said before, it's very much like Galaxy Trucker/FTL.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:49am

Well implemented! Very confusing at the beginning, I could really use a hands-on tutorial (maybe not possible in the time limit). But I liked the idea, good job!

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:46am

Love the concept, well done!

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:17pm

It's a really good idea and a great start. With some additional work this will be incredible. I would like to see more variety in the events and some unique graphics for each event, maybe animations too. Also a consistent interface over all game states would be nice. I like this game very much and I hope you have the time to perfect it.

deathray says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:54am

I agree with MRvanderPants. The ship builder was good but when I was in space i didn't understand if i was making good choices or bad choices, nor did i know which to choose.

May 20, 2013 @ 11:23pm

The idea was neat, but the execution was severely lacking. The game's windowing ranged from border only, to full chrome, to fullscreen and tooltips displaying outside of the main window. Very odd, and made the game difficult to get into. SHip building was neat, but the ui could use more feedback (highlight selected part type, etc) While in space, feedback on events seemed too minimal. I wasn't sure if what I did was good or bad unless a part exploded or animals died.

foul says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:27am

Good concept, not so minimalistic though.. but quite interesting. i managed to reach my first destination maybe at my seventh try, then i ended quite fast without rations, do i need to replace them?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]