April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Haunting of the Torus

by Zoidbergtron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A troubled cube, hounded by a Torus from hell. Can you save him?

Our plucky protagonist is The Rotating Cube, a familiar face in the realm of 3D graphics, but today he faces a sinister foe! Once a simple circle, Torus was revolved around an axis coplanar with himself, and not just any axis, The Axis of HELL!

Defeat The Haunted Torus in all his forms, one Torus, two Tori, and three Tori! How? By shooting spheres through his abominable center! Relax afterwards listening to a ukelele with all sorts of reverb piled on in the mix.

Okay, to be honest, this is my first Dare, my first programming competition, and actually my first game! I also thought I was going to do a text game until the morning of the competition when I got to use the alpha of the Goo Engine.

So if this game seems a bit rushed, it is, I unfortunately did not have enough time to get a hang of the engine, so in the spirit of minimalism I used the shapes provided as a base by the engine.

I had lots of fun, and feel it was a good idea to jump out of my comfort zone(in other words I know this is barely a game but I learned a lot).

I hope you enjoy! I crave feedback, and don't mind criticism.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#604Audio2.63
#908Humor1.78
#994Theme3.05
#1169Mood2.11
#1224Graphics2.09
#1257Fun1.98
#1260Innovation1.98
#1320Overall2.07

Comments

Misfit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Nice little game. Maybe it needs an explosion animation or something?

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Congratulations on your first ever game! Choosing to go 3D is brave so well done. Maybe do an upgraded version with a 360 degree firing mechanic using the mouse?

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I kind of like that the bullets shoot towards the direction you're running away from. Much more sensible than the usual methods :)

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Good work. Creative feedback: the health of the torus should be lowered since it's insane amount of bashing the poor space bar ;)

ElScootro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice work! Hope you'll enter again next time.

Nolojen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:39am

Those torii (toruses?) have a ton of hp! i really enjoyed the colors and the audio, nice work

evilDan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:41am

For some reason I really craved a cup of coffee to go with this game...

All in all not bad. I would have liked more feedback when you shoot the doughnut (er... torus) - a sound, small explosion or something. Beyond that, it takes a LOT of shots to kill those suckers so an autofire would be a good addition (my wrist is killing me!).

Good job for a first go!

ps3master72 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:42am

good work for a first game!

Enneract says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44am

Nice minimalistic game, just a thought it would be much better if the bullets still fired at a constant interval when you hold the space key (rather than get a huge trail of them).

robc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:44am

Like the reverse firing mechanic - only downside is that the playfield feels a little too constrained - so it's fiddly when you're run to the boundary and can't move any further to get it to fire correctly.

Feel like the Torii was a little over powered - probably needs some feedback as well to signify that it's actually been hit.

Still, there's the groundwork for an interesting little blaster though :)

daredevildave says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36am

Nice first game. Definitely needs some feed back when you shoot stuff. Over all needs more juice: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy0aCDmgnxg

Zoidbergtron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

@daredevildave Thank you for the video, definitely taking it to heart.

Thank you everyone who has commented so far! Definitely will make explosion animations as improvements in the future, maybe as an update for one game a month.

May 3, 2013 @ 12:22am

Good idea with the shooting direction, I agree with runonthespot, it's much more sensible to be running away from whatever you are shooting! Keep making games!!

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:26am

The music was good, but my space bar is now dead ;)

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:38am

Echoing other commenters - hope to see you in LD again in the future!

Alphonsus says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:50am

Needs more juice but good job for a first game. Love the music though. Also, here's a really helpful article on making a shmup game. http://shmuptheory.blogspot.com/2010/02/anatomy-of-shmup.html

Keep it up!

wolf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:17am

Simple but fairly solid. Could use some improvements but it's a good start. One suggestion for making the gameplay more interesting would be to have the torus rotate so it's more of a challenge to shoot through the center and also perhaps some AI for the torus to dodge bullets a bit.

rezzish says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:46am

Really liked that music

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:04am

I had fun while playing~

nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]