April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LESS [Last Exit Scary Square]

by Tsuki_Usagi - Jam Entry

"finished" but at the same time "not finished"

I'm not really surprised as my first LD (and I know nothing about programation so I couldn't help Xavier with that at all)
yesterday It appeared some problems and he ended re-making all the codes from the very beginning again, so yeah.... super-rushed ending because of that basically xD''''

But~ well, this one is not the last and we have to take it as one more experience :v (basically it helped me to know how everything goes in LD <--- totally a newbie even for pixel art, just started not even one month ago)

I only hope that next LD will have a more appealing theme to me or at least one that makes me want to draw or do something very detailed with the graphics xD

but anyways, I'm happy, this was my first step in videogames~

PD: Xavier's profile:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/xbelanch/

[Controls]

"X" to start

"E" to take objects

"A", "S", "D" & "W" to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#40Theme(Jam)4.07
#78Mood(Jam)3.64
#232Humor(Jam)2.30
#256Overall(Jam)3.17
#261Fun(Jam)2.93
#269Innovation(Jam)2.97
#269Audio(Jam)2.92
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00

Comments

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46am

Neat game! You managed to make it creepy with very simple graphics.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13am

Good work.
The game is very minimalist :)

mdiehr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Nice work!

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Dang. I never knew how creepy a few rectangles could be. Excellent job on mood and theme. I actually think the very minimal audio did a good job at ratcheting up the tension as well.

paulmcgg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

Neat, I am always a fan of super low resolution games. Coming back to the room with a light and seeing blood was good. Really wanted there to be a bit more to it, felt like it was only starting (read: make moooore).

Pd: That room did not feel like an escape. ;)

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:20am

Thank you very much to all of you for playing it! :D

@paulmcgg: ...rushed ending, felt more like it was a trap(?) xD anyways, thank you very much for playing :)

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:21am

I see what you mean by not quite finished, but what is there is pretty good! :) It managed to be a little unsettling with simple blocks and colors and sounds. Good job!

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:50am

Despite the poor grammar and incompleteness of this entry, I found that you set the mood quite well using text and audio. With more time spent on level design and narrative exploration, this could make for a really great game. Good work for your first Ludum Dare! It's much more complete than my first entry was.

Jyrkface says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I hope you go further with this! The vision occlusion in the hallway and the simple interface helped create a lot of tension!

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:44am

@whilefun thank you very much for the compliment! I'm glad you liked it! :D

@Julian Ceipek well, english is not my first, second or even third language so I still doing a lot of mistakes... but yeah, you're right xD

thanks again for the comments!

Yacodo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:54am

Wow. Just great. (Don't know if I missed something, but I escaped without challenge (first door I choose) seem pretty fast). But great compo for the theme.

hissssssssss says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:22am

The game sometimes hung up for me a little but, but that might be a problem on my end.
You managed to make this pretty chilling. Well done.

cmayhem says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:46am

Few simple blocks made an athmospheric game. The ending was very abrupt, I want more!

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Nice game. I liked the whole appearance, since it reminds me a bit of the abstract graphical style of minecraft. Some more content would be nice. Does the door which doesn't lead you to freedom put vou in an infinite loop?
All in all nice work!

AnimeGeek32 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Very good for a first try!

kddekadenz says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Yay, I escaped. For the minimalistic graphics it was rather creepy. Good use of audio.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:10am

ERROR: HTML5 audio error 4 (Invalid source file)

The game doesn't work on my computer.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:29am

Made the simplest stuff have meaning. Great take on the theme. I needed to escape and I did.

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:30am

Great work! The game manages to be really atmospheric while relying on extremely minimal graphics! =D

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Really minimalist graphics !

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:49am

thank you very much for playing and commenting everyone!! =D

@Sylvain.p let me talk with Xavier to find the problem (he knows more than me about this)

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:26am

@Sylvain.p Ah, didn't saw you could play in the end xD

JonRB says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:39am

The audio really added to the mood! Strange game. The lack of context makes it weirder. I love it!

Evil Cult says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:17am

Interesting. Great job setting the tone with limited tools. I found there were some issues with the text that bugged me. I also seemed to get stuck in an infinite loop on my first playthrough which didn't seem too fair to me.

omaha says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:18am

Very moody. This was great. I loved the audio.

Blinked says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:00am

Really cool, excellent audio mixed with the definition of minimalist graphics lol.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]