April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SUMOMIMAL

by Conve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

use WASD to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#344Humor2.57
#558Audio2.70
#713Theme3.38
#908Fun2.60
#912Innovation2.63
#972Mood2.44
#1176Graphics2.17
#1183Overall2.49

Comments

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Interesting concept, and the music is nice. The controls, however, are confusing: the rotation directions seem to be reversed (pressing A rotates the cube clockwise, and D counter-clockwise), and there's no indication of which was it's facing.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

There's something oddly pleasing about this, and I can't figure out what. The controls itself are a bit horrible, after all - at least the red cube could show better what side is facing "front" and "back" for the movement. :)

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Yeah, the controls were a little confusing, but I really like the music and the game fits the theme well!

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Agree with ZeroDivide about the controls. Left and Right are the wrong way around! otherwise I found it to be fun knocking those shapes off.

If you gave all the shapes angry eyes it would be funnier though :)

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

I had the same issue with the reversed controls. Otherwise, fun little game.

31eee384 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Neat! Agreed that the controls seem backwards.

berjah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Good game that requires some skill. I had a little trouble remembering which way the cube was facing. Once I worked that out I was able to work on suminating the opponents.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Controls are really hard to get used to, perhaps because I have no idea where the cube is facing, music fits in nicely

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Great game,
a little bit hard controls, but still good!

ming_tea says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:27am

It took me a little while to get used to the controls, but once I did I enjoyed it. Great music, too.

nhmllr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

While the controls were confusing, I found the general concept pretty well executed. Nice idea.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21am

I don't know why that green cylinder keeps humping me, but great job!

OniiRam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24am

Very cool concept, try to improve controls maybe. Or add a face to the cube to know which way it's going.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

Here there is a photo of the Developer during the Ludum Dare xD He can confirm!

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/4638/20130428150113891.jpg

Conve says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

me & mr. Wilson!

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Intersting, and very nice music...GG

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

it was fun to see geometric shapes sumo
the controls need some work

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Cool game. The movements gave the simple shapes a lot of personality.

captainkraft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:20pm

That was a lot of fun. I'd recommend adding a texture to the player so you know which direction you are facing. Well done

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Any game that makes me think is the winner! This is definitely a good ride.

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:31pm

lol... that is very cool! I like the control and lack of shadows... adds a novel simplicity to the game. Great mood.

May 2, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Fun, but still needs some work, like a way to show where the player is facing... :) Nice music!

May 3, 2013 @ 3:33am

I really liked the music! Knowing which way the cube was facing wasn't a problem for me, but the left/right controls being inverted threw me off. Also, I have no idea what I was supposed to do. But I hope it was push the other shapes off the platform. Because I did a lot of that, and it was fun. The momentum for overpowering the other shapes feels very right.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Good concept.

SmilingCat says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:39pm

This brought a smile on my face when I played it. Loved the concept.

One suggestion would be to give an indication of what way the player is facing - not being able to see that made the controls a bit difficult to handle at times.

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Liked the concept!

WiseGAMER says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:29pm

I really didn't knew why I was having more score , I took 110 ,and I was confused about the front of my square :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]