April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

minimatch

by berjah - 48 Hour Compo Entry

minimatch is a puzzle game. You click the object which matches the size of the challenge object. After each challenge, click the 'new game' button to move on. The game keeps tracks of wins/losses but otherwise doesn't really keep a score. Difficulty scales to your success.

There's a debug mode, which displays the actual radius of the objects so you can confirm that the game is not playing you, as games do in Soviet Russia.

There is a potato mode. Of course, no potatos were intentionally harmed during the development of this program.

I tried to express minimalism in simplicity. Simple code, simple shapes, simple colors, simple rules, simple game play, and yes, lower case text.

Anyway, it was written in JavaScript using the HTML5 canvas. It requires an HTML5-compliant browser and is working with Firefox 20, IE 9 and Chrome 26.

It can run stand-alone from a folder. It does not require a web server.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#247Humor2.76
#505Theme3.58
#946Innovation2.58
#962Fun2.54
#966Audio1.92
#967Overall2.78
#1194Mood2.00
#1250Graphics2.04
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:09am

Doesn't work in Firefox, but works in Chrome though. Just saying. Nice thing!

berjah says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Thanks =)

- Firefox mousedown event now handled properly
- Added support for OGG audio format

So, it's now working in Firefox 20, IE9, and Chrome 26.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Scalable difficulty is cool, as is Papa Spuds in his starring role. Fun, and very hard - I lost the first 3 times I played. Pretty and attractive.

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Fun game and "replayable".
.
.
HEY, POTATO(mode)!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Fully fits a theme, but for me fails completely as a game

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

After 20 wins and 10 losses I decided to quit while I was ahead!

Nice simple idea, would be great to have had other objects other than just circles, but then I guess it wouldn't have been so minimalistic.

Full points for theme for sure ;)

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I love the potato mode ^^
You can sell this to opticians ;)

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51am

Very interesting concept. I second the optometrist suggestion.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

The concept is ok and somewhat addictive, but the execution is not so fun. but all in all nice.

May 2, 2013 @ 11:33am

I got addicted to this game, it's simply fun and re-playable, and nice one for the potato mode xD... I would suggest a timer per game hehe :D

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:49am

Surprisingly addictive and hard. Best I ever approached was about 67%. I'd normally get one mistake at that level and then get it correct. It was quite tough to tell sometimes and that made it nicely tricky!

Broxxar says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Potato mode was a riot. Great work with the theme, a lot of fun from such a simple design.

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Cool idea ^-^, but I hated the purple thing in the interface as the theme is minimalist it was utterly unnecessary.
I would love to see some levels where you needed to match color shades.

Cyboot says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I was searching for a "native" HTML5/JS game and I found your game.
And its pretty good. Potato mod was the best :D

It also fits to the theme in an unique way. Good Job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]