About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 20 hours, 42 minutes, 51 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 20 hours, 54 minutes, 51 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 21 hours, 42 minutes, 51 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Box's World - avidgamerNino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Use W, A, S, D or Arrow Keys, Escape Box World!

    Make sure you have sound on or use headphones.

    Note: Flash Build may be Harder.

    Note2: You start in the dark so don't worry, watch your White trail and listen for sound cues.

    View avidgamerNino's journal. | View all entries by avidgamerNino

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #257Mood3.26
    #294Audio3.13
    #524Innovation3.16
    #552Theme3.54
    #872Graphics2.63
    #948Overall2.80
    #996Humor1.61
    #1167Fun2.21

    Comments

    lulzfish_4 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26am

    Interesting at first, but quite difficult. I think there was some lighting issues, most of the time the screen was almost all black until I reached the 2nd level (I think) at which point it was almost all white. I wasn't sure what was going on, really.

    Crowbeak says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

    If any of the games I've played so far have captured Minimalism and melded it well with gameplay, this one has. What an absorbing experience. The sound was very illustrative, and I like how your trail fragmented when you hit a wall.

    Tozy says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

    This game is a little too frustrating. I really felt lost and a little ... stressed I suppose. Maybe too minimalist? To the point you don't know whats going on? I made some progress but couldn't finish the game and gave up.
    At first I rated 1star in mood for how bad it made me feel, but then I decided that it was more of a good thing that the game could generate such feelings... in a twisted way.

    evelyn-jolli says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

    i liked it. 5 stars for mood

    mortus says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

    I don't think it gets more minimal than this. At least while it's still playable. And don't get me wrong, that's a compliment!

    entrusC says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13am

    Nice idea and very fitting to the theme. Only thing that I disliked was that when you start you see nothing and think it is still loading or sth. Maybe provide a visual clue that the game has already startet.

    Haversack says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20pm

    Great take on the theme! It was a little difficult to figure out where to go in the pitch black parts but I like it non the less. The sound was a genius move.

    elbowroom says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21pm

    It fits the theme very well. It was challenging and interesting. I liked the mood and the graphics.

    cwilloughby says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:20am

    Interesting. I didn't really know what was going on. I would have loved some kind of instructions or hints as to what to do.

    Celticraft49 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:03pm

    This game fit perfectly with the theme, unfortunatly, I couldn't find my way past the black floaty spots.

    Thijsku says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:16pm

    This sure is an interesting concept! The looks and gameplay are fitting the theme nicely. I liked it, although I think it can be a bit too frustrating when you're lost.

    Good job!

    UntitledQ says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:12pm

    Interesting albeit confusing and sometimes frustrating. Very well done mood and close adherence to the theme.

    It took me a while to understand which sound meant what (and that the sounds weren't just to help you track your movement).

    At places the high sound seemed to guide me towards a wall with no way around it. I could imagine the concept working out pretty awesomely if the high sound always lead the way (and not just towards some fixed points). Perhaps even with conflicting visuals where the sound urges you to leave the visible path...

    By the way, thanks for playing our game on stream!

    mrexcessive says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:39pm

    Very strange moving around in dark. I found some rivers, well blue, and a little red. Wasn't sure what I was trying to achieve. Sound was cool, as was the general experience.

    May 4, 2013 @ 5:59am

    This is game is kinda weird to me but... I LIKE IT! xD
    I love the atmosphere and at first it was difficult for me to move the player around. Very minimalist.

    hughsk says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:38am

    Nice job! Took me a long while to work out the beginning but it felt rewarding when I did :)

    SuperDisk says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 4:58pm

    I had almost no idea what I was doing.. :L Graphics were really cool and sound was nice as well, though!

    omaha says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:02pm

    Is there an issue with the web build or was just too impatient? I never saw anything other than my trail. Didn't look anything like the screenshots or intro preview.

    rezzish says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:03pm

    That was really good once I got past the beginning! Fantastic work.

    Switchbreak says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:11pm

    This is really good. Maybe a bit too difficult, but I did manage to finish it. Love the mood.

    Xaychru04 says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:17pm

    I enjoyed this game! It's very hard to find your way with this black and white world, but there's a good mood created by the different sound. Good job ;)

    yellowlemming says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:09pm

    it certainly fits the them well and looks fairly good, if a little featureless at times, but I had no idea what i was supposed to be doing because I couldn't really see anything

    sudorossy says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 9:12pm

    This definitely hit the theme. While a little difficult to visualize where you were, I find it did add to the gameplay, even if it got annoying at times.

    Tainted_Code says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 9:18pm

    Strange concept, but I really liked it! :D

    GranaDa says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:49pm

    Nice mood but a bit hard to start (everything was black) and figure where to go. Good entry!

    Ryusui says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:59am

    Interesting concept, but navigation is way too frustrating and abstract for this to be really fun. Kudos for the musical cues, though.

    CyberYeti says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 8:57pm

    Really great mood and innovation. However, i found it to be unintentionally terrifying(unless that was your intention, in that case good job)with the openness and loss of positioning and direction and the music along with it.really cool game though!

    HD408 says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 12:38am

    Got to the end (THE END?), didn't actually understand a thing. At some moment, sound effects started to get irritating. All in all, pretty minimalistic.

    ohsqueezy says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 12:04pm

    Cool 3D experiment, dreamlike and psychedelic, especially the end area.

    Jiyko says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 12:46pm

    Took me a minute to get what was going on but great little experience!

    hirsch says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 1:53pm

    I restarted the game twice and played it several minutes. I wasn't able to figure out what was going on :/
    I heard some sounds and i didn't knew what they mean.
    What should i do? :O

    Taro Omiya says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 5:06am

    Not sure how audio contributes to where you're supposed to go. Graphics was nice, though. Definitely liked the direction you were going towards.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 8:58pm

    Nice atmosphere, but i'm lost.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]