April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Maxwell Rush

by lanz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi all!
This is my first LD entry. Hope you'll have fun playing it!

Maxwell Rush is about being the Maxwell's demon. You have to sustain body temperature within acceptable limits using your force field to attract molecules and stop them from collisions with black walls(or to cause said collisions). Red walls are hot, they increase molecule's speed.

WHAT!
So basically in the top right corner you have thermometer with a black tick. When the tick reaches either end of the thermometer, game over. It goes to the left at a constant speed. Every bump of a molecule(blue ball) with any black wall pushes the tick a little to the right(the faster was molecule the greater the push). Bumping with a red wall doubles molecule speed. You can stop molecules with your body or push it in desired direction. Also press SPACE to pull molecules inside your forcefield (black circle) to you.
Press ESC to pause/unpause.
Blue bar in the top left will be getting smaller over time, so when it disappears you win!


It is written in C++ using awesome Qt4 framework and awesome Box2D engine.

To go to next level from the "Level completed" screen - click with the mouse.

Killer features:
-Become mighty ancient entity!
-Twiddle with physics!
-Science-y!
-Programmer art!
-Over 4 levels!
-Over 0.5 sound effects!
-Secret level!
-Earn stuff!
-The only game where you can earn respect!

Thank you all for voting and kind comments! .) Special for you here are POST-release version. Rate main entry, then be free to play
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14254457/Maxwell%20rush%20Pro.zip
It is ALOT easier, you can control demon with mouse("new-age modern"), also when you die, you restart at the level you died.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#201Humor2.92
#205Innovation3.60
#584Overall3.14
#637Fun2.90
#840Graphics2.67
#889Mood2.55
#917Theme3.15
#931Audio2.00

Comments

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Fun idea and theme! Controls were a bit hairy, and i didn't get the goal of the game from the help screen immediately. +1 for using Qt :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Cool and very different! Couldn't figure out at what speeds the balls started to accelerate out of control though...

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Awesome game! "Heat is work and work is heat", check this youtube video about thermodynamics :P https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VtEqn-5XHpU

Nice work on the physics part, the awards were pretty fun as well. The dynamics of the game are really cool!

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Genius. I never thought of making that idea into a game. Physics nerds unite. Great game play.

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Very unique. Really fun.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Very cool, a bit too hard from the get go...
Control's could be tweaked to use the mouse, I think (like the mouse acting as an attractor to the big attractor thing)...
Very original!

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Very nice! The physics work well (only bugged out once) and the idea is great. Graphically it's a bit simple and there could have been more sounds. Overall, good work.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:54am

Nice game, very minimal ;)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Took me a second to understand what's going on. Now I have to say I really like to concept! I'd dare to say that maybe mouse control would make it easier.

berkano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Very original!! Found it quite difficult. Funny rewards :-)

pizzababies says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

heh, I really like the reward system - that was really cute.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Had fun while playing it, the idea is definetely interesting :) You used QT really well, did not think it was capable of such things.

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Very good entry, enjoyed very much!!! :)

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Fun game. You earned a comb with hair! Level 5 is brutal... didn't see that coming.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Once I got used to the controls, it was fun and interesting. I enjoyed it.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Really challenging, but having to restart from level one every time got a bit tiresome.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Never seen anything like it before. It's very fun. I didn't catch initially that space controls the forcefield - that made it a lot easier! Still a good difficulty though, I think.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Loved the awards. Controls are a bit hard but overall fun.

Proch says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:39am

loved it

Jod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:56am

Quite clever! Love the physics of the thing, pretty cool!

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Interesting game, but It felt like nothing I did had any effect. I read through the instructions a few times, but I was still left quite confused.

rykounanba says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Fun idea, Fun game. Altough it seemed a little hard for me at times.

lanz says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Thank you all!
If you find it too hard, fell free to play post-compo version with mouse control.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14254457/Maxwell%20rush%20Pro.zip
Have fun!

May 9, 2013 @ 9:43pm

This is hard :)
Also very cool!
The end-level prizes are truly excellent.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:54pm

So my friend told me he wants me to make a game about Maxwell's demon and I said that I didn't think it'd work... Five in innovation and yay for physics! <3

And woohoo! I got re$spect.

The physics worked great (I should try Box2D in Python) though you can exploit them in level 4. Push a ball to a corner and hold it. Release to increase the temperature and hold it again. Finally, you should make MB1 attract in the post-compo version, and WASD still moves the demon.

Fantastic work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]