April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Black Square

by Parappa - Jam Entry

Flash Player game, Dragonhead engine, team of 4 jammers.

Cold War theme, GameBoy inspired visual style (but not faithful to GameBoy graphical capabilities).

- Chad Kopfensteiner
- Gordon McGladdery
- Jose Ilitzky
- Jason Estey

*Note: Flash Projector is recommended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#46Fun(Jam)3.63
#47Audio(Jam)3.84
#82Humor(Jam)3.11
#86Graphics(Jam)3.95
#104Mood(Jam)3.53
#130Overall(Jam)3.51
#399Theme(Jam)2.88
#419Innovation(Jam)2.46

Comments

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

I downloaded and open it with chrome, but still cropped
then I edited the index.html file and change the resolution so I can play it

Parappa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53am

Thanks, yeah, the html is definitely cropping even in the "fixed" version. I will replace it with a fixed version asap.

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05am

Nice job! Loved the look and audio. I downloaded the web version and ran it in Chrome. I expected the web version to be a website link, but I got a download instead. I also saw the cropping mentioned here, but it was only a problem on the start and monitor screens. Good work!

Parappa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34am

I've had to remove the web link now. Couldn't figure out quick hosting. Maybe later. Need to be better prepared for the next jam. :)

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02am

I liked this game. It felt like a Metal Gear Solid game or something. I couldn't seem to finish the game though. I Just got to the part where the game is like "Is it hiding here?" and got lost. Good music, neat graphics, good fun overall.

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08am

I wish I could shoot diagonally when I'm moving diagonally.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:10am

nice. love the style and overall feel

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:13am

A bit annoying due to dying over and over, but it's nice that you don't start all the way over again. Love the Stalin tank thing at the end, and great explosions.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35am

Was very amusing, loved the graphics/music!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53am

to be honest, I fail to find the "minimalistic" part in this game.. but it's freaking good fun :)

MetroidMan347 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04am

I enjoyed this game. I love the gameboy-esque style graphics! The music was okay. Overall a pleasing experience.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21am

Absolutely FAN-FREAKIN'-TASTIC game! Superb Gameboy-style graphics, perfect controls, a very satisfying bullet-dodge mechanic that left me feeling like a badass sharp-shooter...

This game was pure fun, through and through. I just wish that it was a full-sized indie game!

Please consider doing more on it, Parappa. I would buy this game in a second!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:22am

Though, as others have said, this isn't actually very minimalist. It's just retro, which isn't the same thing.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:34am

Yeah i won \o/ Quite simple but fun, especially the part where you can trick your ennemies into landmines and then there's a chain reaction and stuff, great !

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:47am

My favorite part is when two guards came at me, and then mutually shot each other right in front of me. It's like they had got some sort of suicide pact all planned out.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

Cool game. Found a bit of a cheat for the last level; if you walk up through the corner of a block you can walk slightly embedded in the blocks from the side. This allows you to walk straight up to Stalin without getting hit by the cannon.

Parappa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Thanks for playing, everyone! I'm super stoked to have participated in Ludum Dare this time. Great community, and thanks for all of the feedback.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24am

Awesome... this is pretty nice :D

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:21am

The graphics are fantastic, the music is nice and I love the gameboy style display. Very nice!

Alink says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:14am

Deliciously retro.

May 8, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Big fan of the music and the art style, but I got quite stuck in that one room where the radio asks if the pixel is "in here" but nothing I did seemed to uncover it.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Amazing and fun! Better than most gameboy titles!

Parappa says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:13am

The Black Square team has prepared a patched build that we will be releasing after the game jam judging is complete. It contains minor fixes only (but we don't want to cheat by releasing it early):

- Back-tracking through stairs will spawn the player near the appropriate entry stairs, to make navigation much more logical.

- Radio message in the tank garage area will now say "Is the Black Square hiding here? Probably not."

Thanks everyone for trying the game out. We hope to do another project like it in the future.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Retro Style exactly how I love it! Nice game.

Orni says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:20am

great game - visuals, audio and gameplay were excellent, loved it :)

well done guys :D

zkenshin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Really liked the audio. :) Nice job.

Beldarak says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Loved the GameBoy feel of it, brings back a lot of memories :)

The boss fight was definitely a nice touch.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:23pm

The AI seems to have some trouble finding its way around... They do like walls! I don't like how the enemies spawn from nowhere though.

This is a great entry and it reminds me of the old Gameboy games. It's fun, looks great, sounds great. Congratulations!

michail says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:50am

Yeah, sometimes the enemies go through the walls, but it is still very good and fun entry, with nice music and stylish graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]