April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DoubleW

by CharlesBoury - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first entry at LudumDare. And kind of my first self-computerized game.
Play DoubleW, try to understand it. It will bring you to warm, new, unfamiliar, obscure, dazzling, torrid, antediluvian places.
Escape.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#135Theme4.04
#170Graphics3.74
#451Innovation3.25
#788Mood2.65
#888Overall2.86
#1167Fun2.21
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

jami says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Um... I... No, I don't get it, will come later to figure out ;) Nice colors though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Ohh, artsy-fartsy. Nice work on the "physics" and color.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Interesting, got the rectangle at the top to the end then when it went back to the start i stopped. Nice colours

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Uh, I got the thingy at the top all the way to the right also, is that a good thing? xD Enjoyed it eventhough I didn't understand it, which speaks for itself. Great work!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

This is great. If only it had audio :(

CharlesBoury says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Yeah, audio is my nemesis.
But as programming was my nightmare before, next time I will force myself to integrate sounds.
Thank you for your feedback !

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Beautiful colours, and strangely fun to bounce the ball around. Definitely simple and minimalistic!

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Very pretty, kind of hypnotic, and amazing what you can do with just a circle and three polygons. Boing... Boing... Boing...

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Love the animation on the ball, feels like a disney film! Always refreshing to see physics that don't feel like standard game physics. That said, I didn't know what to do after I got the ball to the top and got bored.

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

Odd one, this. Nice use of color.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:13am

Elegant and undeniably minimalist. I like your muted palettes, and the fact that there are no points or shallow win conditions. As others have said, however, audio would have added a lot. Nice job!

NiallM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39am

Very nice. Your colour palettes are gorgeous.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Beautiful.
I really loves the gameplay too, even if it's more a toy than a game (or I didn't get it :/). I wished it was more difficult to pierce the...things, cause keeping the down arrow pressed always do the job.
The good thing is that even if I knew this would work, I acted like I didn't and try to be coordonate with the ball. Good job!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I got through all the levels, quite an odd little gem you have here. The last one was way too hard, but it was pretty enjoyable. I feel bad for everyone who barely spent any time on it.

CharlesBoury says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I enjoy hearing you say that you're not sure if the way you play was good or bad.
But, as in minimalist art, there is so little to interpret that everything a player feels can be a good interpretation. This is why I had a lot of difficulty to chose a title. It can skew so much !

So I'm very happy that this game lacks of explicit feedback. I think this is its strength.

@Pierrec a relative told me : "See ? I can block the space bar, and the game plays itself. You shouldn't have permit it". But do you open the last page of a book in front of its author and say : "I know the end without having to read all your book ! You failed to entertain me !".
So I don't know : is this coming from my game ? or from the sincerity of the way you play ?

jerombd says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Nice "physic"!
Not real ending: I didn't notice if the difficulty increase with the second loop...

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I found the last level much more challenging than the others, a more gradual increase of the difficulty would be good, and a bit of audio. But good job overall, and nice colors :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]