April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Light the way

by cinnamonmelonpig - Jam Entry

Light the Way!
Are you up for a challange? Navigate through each level, light the Beacons and avoid getting killed. The challange will gradually increase for each level as you face harder obstacles to master! The last level will blow your mind!

This was our first Ludum Dare, and probably not our last!
We're very pleaed with our result, and we hope you enjoy playing it as much as we have.

The game is minimalistic in both graphics and controls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#51Theme(Jam)4.00
#57Fun(Jam)3.59
#109Overall(Jam)3.59
#141Audio(Jam)3.37
#147Graphics(Jam)3.70
#216Humor(Jam)2.36
#243Mood(Jam)3.06
#311Innovation(Jam)2.82

Comments

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

I actually thought this was a great game! I really enjoyed it, even though I died 6 times, and didn't even finish it, I was laughing a lot.

The audio kinda bugged me. Not the sfx, but the music was weird, and I didn't enjoy it

3beards says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

Controls were interesting! I liked the acceleration but felt it was a bit odd to orient myself with the cursor keys

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

Nice game, the controls are a bit hard but I guess that's part of the idea. Nice level design.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

Very funny game, coudn't stop till the end!

My gf loved how the triangle bounces!

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42am

it wouldn't finish loading for me. Chrome/Win8 x64

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46am

Nice game! Really liked the bouncing walls, it gets very challenging! The audio is also just right!

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

It took me a while to get used to the controls, but it's a fun game. Many, many, many deaths :). I think the background music volume is too low.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

Funny game, very minimal well die ;)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

Funny game, very minimal well done ;)

Diventurer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00am

Neat game, controls were a bit hard to get into but I got it at last. :P

mostley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:02am

Great game. The "bounce" sound is a bit misleading. It sounds more dangerous than it is.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Can't rate audio, sorry (no speakers) Graphics remind me of the old Atari games, ahh nostalgia. Controls are solid once you know what's expected, checkpoints are well integrated and feel natural. Difficulty ramps nicely without being too difficult too soon. Very solid entry, lots of fun!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Was a fun time, liked the ramping in difficulty and the music kept the mood going throughout. Fun little quirks like bouncing around and having an interesting way to move is always fun. The ending... Oh boy.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

nice game. except maybe i would appreciate different controls (those where the arrows are relative to your orientation). I died like hundred times and i actually enjoyed it, but it was a little hard sometimes ;)

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Nice polished game. You managed to make the minimalist graphics look good.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39pm

OK after 110+ deaths I couldn't get past a certain level. Blocks kept pushing me away.

So... good use of simple mechanics make this game an engaging experience.
I like it how the rules appear to be evolving in each new room.

The difficulty is right on. It is pretty challenging.
Also, the soundtrack is catchy!

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Loved the control, it's so fluid ! Nice game !

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Quite fun. :)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Nicely done, really frustrating in parts but the good kind of frustration! Fun to play keeps you interested too. Nice job!

Holofire says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Fun. Challenging. Awesome. Great job!

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Simple but clever :D, little hard!, love the minimalist art, and very well made :D

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:05pm

I love your game! Controls are very smooth and graphics are neat

NAMKCOR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:57am

Well made, pretty straightforward.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:28am

53 deaths. I hope you are happy. /potato. I enjoyed this. Graphics and controls were tight. I'd suggest maybe making the dark green (death area) a different color. Maybe just darker green, if you want to keep it colored vs black. Well polished. Perhaps a room counter or some progress bar so you know how close to the end you are, to incentivize people not to quit?

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:33am

I really liked the music, really liked the graphics considering the theme but I kept getting these thin flashing purple lines which bothered me. Still very good game, one of my favorite entries.

May 2, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Thanks for the feedback and constructive comments, we appreciate it very much!

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:40pm

The controls and wall bounce work great, I would also suggest the dark green areas are changed to a different/darker colour. Music is cool, later levels are merciless. It's good the buttons don't reset. Really enjoyed the challenge, Well Done =]

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Frustrating, but fun!

Fnkee says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Sweet, finally made it after 49 deaths! Epic ending chiptune in the end (Is that Nightwish or something?). Interesting gameplay, simple yet challenging. I enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]