April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cells

by anatolat - Jam Entry

This game is about war between blue and red cells.

It's my first LudumDare entry. Though I didn't manage to complete this game in 48 hours and the final result looks quite differently from my original idea, whole experience of creating game in such a short period of time was amazing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#259Innovation(Jam)3.00
#285Humor(Jam)2.09
#320Overall(Jam)2.98
#377Theme(Jam)2.98
#390Graphics(Jam)2.78
#404Audio(Jam)2.14
#423Mood(Jam)2.45

Comments

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46am

Pretty neat concept, although very easy to sit on the 'LD 26' and amass the little child cells. Still fun :)

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

This game is a lot of fun and had a pretty cool concept, I liked it. However, as fussycashew said, farming on the "LD26" really made it easy to beat. You might want to make it more clear that the mouse controls the cell if you ever continue this, as I died a couple of times trying the arrow keys and the wasd keys...

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Definitely a fun little game. The one sound effect is a tad loud. I really liked the concept of building up yourself and the smaller helper cells. As fussycachew mentioned, it's a bit to tempting to exploit the LD26. Nicely done overall.

Atridas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Reminded me of 'Osmos'. Funny game overall.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

That was really fun! I love simple games like this so I guess minimalism has worked in your favor :)

Glad to hear it was your first LD, hope you keep on participating and had fun!

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Quite original concept, but gameplay questionable - it is just too easy with the LD 26 in the middle. But I had great fun hunting enemy cells with my huge army :-D

kreddor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Really nice concept. This has a lot of potential. It's like Pacman meets Osmos with a bit of good ol' Asteroids in it. It was to easy though. After one minute I was able to annihilate anything I met. I also think it would improve on the game if the world wrapped at the edges like in Asteroids. I had to turn the sound down after a while because it got annoying ;)

Kimeric Labs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Nice concept! Like other people said, the "LD 26" made it too easy to grow large fast and beat the game. I can imagine this working very well as something to pass the time on a cellphone, given a more "drifty" gameplay and randomly generated levels each time I play :)

Robrock55 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:35am

And the life wars created...
Great game ! A lot of fun playing it.
Really good for your first LD :)

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:12am

Very cool game! I really like the concept, though, the "LD26" kind of breaks the game. The problem is, that its too easy, to build a fairly decent army of blue cells, just moving left/right on it. Try considering, stopping the points from reapearing or give them a longer timeout.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:13am

The cell you played as was so cute. I'm not sure if that was intentional or not though. Also, you could just hang out near the beginning and collect the 'LD 26' dots to easily overpower the other cells.

Still, 'twas fun fighting and such. Good going!

finefin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:41am

I really want to play this but i have problems running this on my Mac :( console says:
"-- Could not find image named 'BackArrow'.
-- Could not find image named 'ForwardArrow'."
And the programm quits. any suggestions?

OSX 10.7.5
Java 7.21

May 2, 2013 @ 9:14am

Very cute. Love the pew-pew noises :D

manabreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:32am

A bit too easy, but fun game nevertheless. :)

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Quite enjoyable!
Would've liked the option of arrow keys/WASD to move, though.

TammiLion says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Is the windows link correct? It took me to this google drive page and when I clicked download the next page gave me an error.

anatolat says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:14am

TammiLion, it should work. But I re-uploaded app to dropbox, just in case: https://www.dropbox.com/s/a9d1ho3u4s67tjh/cells.jar

May 11, 2013 @ 2:01pm

A nice concept, I iked having my legions of blue completed destroy the red enemies.
The controls I did not like all that much, it seems to be more oriented towards touch screens.

DaveDobson says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Really cool, sharp looking, well-made. I enjoyed discovering how it worked, although I never really felt in danger despite the persistent guided enemy bullets. It does kind of break down after you get a big enough posse following you around - you can barely eat anymore, because your guys narf it all, and if you hang out by the LD26 you spawn so many homeys that nobody can even get close to you. But a cool game, very visually appealing. I actually did a game kind of like this for LD 23 called Teeming - weird how different themes can produce similar results. Nice job!

notepid says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Nice idea, a bit too easy overall since "nourishment" are replenishing very fast. Also, mouse should have worked by holding it down, not only clicking. As other mentioned, keys would be a nice option also.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]