April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Total Viking Power

by TheAwesomeProgrammer - Jam Entry

Our game: Total Viking Power.
About:
Our game is about a viking on a nordic adventure to gain honor so he can enter valhalla. To do so, you must defeat the three great j���¦tter, including the jormungandr and many other foes of the Viking.

You must always have full Viking power. If you lose all your Viking power, you are no true Viking your status as a Viking which means that you will never be able to enter Valhalla. (And you must then start over).
Controls:
- Movement: (W.A.S.D. Or Key arrows)
- chop with axe: (Space)
Notes
- 26 rooms
- 6 enemy types

The team:
Dani Felix Montoya Laynes - Graphics artist.
Philip Ullersted - programming.
Isak Salomon K���¸ster - Game and leveldesign.

Mikkel Ugo Montoya Laynes - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#87Humor(Jam)3.09
#154Fun(Jam)3.22
#183Graphics(Jam)3.58
#239Audio(Jam)3.00
#276Overall(Jam)3.13
#322Mood(Jam)2.76
#468Innovation(Jam)2.27
#529Theme(Jam)2.28

Comments

metaldemon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27am

Great work. It is a challenging game but fun nontheless.
one bug I found is when moving upwards, the character would switch to the next area while the camera was still on another.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13am

I really like the smoothness of the character movement and the music. you have made a fun little game here :)

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37am

A viking! You are gonna die!

Fun game. Wish there was a way to restore health, but nonetheless, I had fun :)

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

I kept leaving the screen by mistake and losing power. Otherwise a fun game.

antonijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I had fun playing it, although it was a bit challenging at times. I wish there was some kind of checkpoint system, so that you don't have to restart every time you die.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Very nice animations, vikings are the best!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Antonijn : It was our plan to have some kind of checkpointsystem, but then we ran out of time :/

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Challenging and fun. Looks really nice.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

It's a pretty cool game! It's fun but Y NO RESTORE HEALTH :(

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Tainted_Code : We wanted to have pickup item, that gave you life, but didn't have the time :( Btw you get life by killed enemies ;) In case you didn't know :)

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33pm

funny graphics!

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49pm

I didn't manage to finish but it was still good game. I liked the graphics and it was quite fun also.

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Fun! Good graphics and music. Sounds are hilarious! On the negative side hitboxes are quite too big and you can't chop trees!!! Overall - nice job!

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Fun game. The Graphics were very very clean and really gave the game character. Loved the voices. I had a small Issue where new screens would scroll too far into the view. It was only a little off but the offset added up with consecutive screen changes.

enzo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Whoa wait what happened at the end? Did I fall in the lake? Now I'll never achieve total viking power! Noooo

(good game)

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Doesn't seem to have much to do with the theme, but it was pretty entertaining. Enemies and hitboxes were pretty glitchy though.

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:43pm

That was great. Shame the theme wasn't Vikings.
The collision could use some work though. Occasionally on entering a busy room, it would jump back out again which was weird.

DesignerNap says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:46am

file isn't available anymore?

May 2, 2013 @ 8:38pm

As far as I can see the file can be downloaded :)

- Headless Hobo

GingerMess says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:37am

I had a few issues with this:
-Often random screen transitions, sometimes with no player character on-screen.
-Fleeing when I never went near the screen edge.

Also I'm not sure how this fits with the theme, but as a game it's quite fun. The voices were amusing, and the music was nice to listen to.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:42am

The animation is great! The spelling in the game is just ok :) It was difficult to figure out exactly where the hitboxes for the weapons were. The voice acting was adorable.

ecool377 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:42am

Pretty good

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:30am

nice -- great graphics

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:16am

Not bad, looks quiet cool. Nice sounds.
Is there an end game? I swear i killed everything including the boss type guy?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]