April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Earth Defender

by Hellequin - Jam Entry

Earth Defender, an Helkegames production for Ludum Dare 26!
You play as the first space division commander, a hero who must save the world from an alien invasion. You are the only one who can defeat them and save the world.

"In the year 2592 aliens are going to invade the earth. Defeat them and save the world"

Choose between three different levels of difficulty: Easy, Medium and Hard (if you want a real challenge choose the Hard level). But be careful, don't waste shots, you have LIMITED AMMO proportional to the level of difficulty!
This game has it all! Minimalistic music, graphic and gameplay, a simple but exciting story, a retro pixel art and a bizarre EASTER EGG inspired by the POTATO!
So what are you still doing here? Play it now and save the world!!

P.S. Suggestions to display the Easter Egg: it will appear only in the Medium level and only if you win it!
Then in the "You Won" screen press a "key" ("P" as Potato ^.^) to display it!
Notice that Earth Defender has got Potato! (It's the Easter Egg).
For best results try to play the game with your browser closed!

Download the zip files, extract them, open the README file for the instructions and then you are ready to play, just click twice on Earth_Defender.jar!
HAVE FUN WITH EARTH DEFENDER!

P.S Don't forget to sign in my website (Link at "Website Download")!

-Joe "Hellequin" Recupero (Helkegames)

Commands:
Arrow keys to move
Spacebar to shoot
Enter to restart the game
X to return to the title screen
Esc to quit the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#253Humor(Jam)2.24
#380Graphics(Jam)2.81
#391Fun(Jam)2.57
#396Audio(Jam)2.19
#427Theme(Jam)2.77
#434Overall(Jam)2.72
#448Mood(Jam)2.37
#527Innovation(Jam)1.94

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

Easy mode spammed my screen with TONS of aliens! Almost impossible to survive that onslaught..

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

I know It's pretty hard to play the first times but I tried all the levels and it's possible to win. Try to close your browser or other programs before playing  (maybe the game crashes :/ for this reason)! Anyway thx for your comment!

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Anychance of moving the dl to dropbox or something? Can't get mediafire to work

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39am

Too hard on easy. Otherwise, good game!

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

Mediafire is annoying, spawned two add windows.

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

Neat! I like the challenge!
Although if you kill all the aliens on one side, it gets really hard to go for the other...maybe you should try randomizing their position a bit on each pass?

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

Karsyf ok I'll to move it into Dropbox in a few hours before of the deadline... Are u sure Mediafire doesn't work??

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

Thx guys it was my first ld ever xD Hope u enjoy my game !!! :)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Was pretty fun!

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

Definitely needs to mention that you only need to shoot the aliens that will actually touch the Earth.

And "possible to win" doesn't actually mean that "Easy" is easy. Maybe it should be "Hard", "Harder" and "Hardest"? :)

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

or Hardest, Nightmare and Hell

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Oh yeah! Easy done

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

Medium done

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

I've only played a couple games so far, but I can say this is easily the hardest.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Awesome xD note that there's an Easter egg when you win the Medium

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

And hard done. Good game

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

Probably a little bit difficult

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

Well done

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54am

Fun and minimalistic but the even the easy difficulty is quite hard.

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02am

No easter egg when i won medium :( . Like the tension when u need to slip into the stream of aliens to shoot them

rejooh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05am

I love the earth texture. But it is surely pretty hard.

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

Made it through easy, gave medium a few tries. Didn't like having to restart the game to change difficulties. Good effort.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Infin8 Thx for your comment :)!

TO DISPLAY THE EASTER EGG: PRESS "P" IN THE YOU WON SCREEN OF THE MEDIUM LEVEL!

scheurneus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Very hard, even on easy

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Idea for ambiance: A bigger screen / fullscreen (even with blocky pixels) would give this some more oompf.

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

IMPOSSIBLE !! too hard ^^

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

The jar works also on Linux.
BTW. Difficult as hell...

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

@yezu Thx i'll provide another link for Linux! Btw try to play the game with your browser closed ;) !

mebibyte says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Very fun! It becomes a bit too easy when you realize that your ship is completely safe at the very top of the screen.

Thanks for trying out and commenting on my game! I didn't think anyone would because it's a GBA game! :D

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I downloaded the emulator just to try it and it was fun :)! ^.^

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very minimal, including the size of the window. Like the pixellated look.

kochb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I don't trust your download page.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

lol, if you think easy mode is tough, you should try hard. That said, Doom/Quake difficulty naming convention is probably appropriate — Normal, Hard, and Nightmare lol. Regardless, it was pretty fun, especially for such a simple game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58pm

BTW - the Windows JAR works just fine on OS X!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

Beat all three modes, and saw the easter egg! A cute game!
Could definitely have used a little music.

At first it was very confusing, until I realized two things:
1 - The alien ships loop around the screen.
2 - It doesn't matter if they hit the Earth.

After that I just carefully picked off the aliens one by one, working my way from the top down. Not bad!

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17am

A solid game, but rather challenging! I wasn't crazy about the hit boxes for my ship or the aliens. They felt a little too large, but maybe that's just me.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:53am

The immediate onslaught is a bit confusing, along with instant death. The lack of music is a shame, and once you figure out that the aliens are looping and that you can break the game by going off the top or bottom of the screen it gets a bit too easy. I liked the graphics for what they were, and always nice to have potatoes, but I felt this could of been designed and polished a lot more. I feel if there was a longer span of enemies coming and not such a cluster, it might prove more beneficial for the title.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29pm

A little hard and the shoot sound a little annoying.
Everything works, no bugs found :D

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Nice game, with good graphics and sound. But screen is a bit too small to my taste, and ship's hitbox is too large. Good job, fun to play!

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

neat little game but I feel like it lacks polish. collisions seem off, there are too many enemies and it does seem like there's a lot of room for improvement. good effort though, keep it up. :)

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Beat the first lvl, but ya its too hard. That said, still a cute little game.

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Wow, easy mode was.. not easy!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

So the viable strategy seems to be "dump early, then pick off the stragglers". Not that I have succeeded in doing this, it just seems like the best idea.

I was ready to write this off, but it's actually a pretty cool concept. Also, I quite like the background.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Hard hard game. But fun; I tried and failed to save the world :(

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Man, that I do call hard, but fun! Winning is overestimated :-)

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Fun game, bit easy! :)

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Couldn't get it to run, I'm afraid. Just kept closing when I went to open it.

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24pm

You should have added some sin wave enemies or so, to make it more difficult.
Anyway good job.

daubers says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Fun game, loved the little ship :) Quite difficult the first couple of times around!

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Nice graphics and sound. Rather difficult levels. Might want to tone them down or rename them ( look who's talking though.. ).

Some music would have been nice and you might want to keep the ship on the screen or something? Seeing as leaving the screen is a cheap way to evade ships.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34pm

The collisions for your ship could be improved. It seems you use a bouncing box around the sprite, and with the tall tail fin, you can collide with aliens if you come close (but still not touching) with the front of ship. It makes weaving between aliens somewhat tricky, and feels as if the game bugged out when you lose when you didn't really touch anything. You can also idle your ship out of view at the bottom of the screen. Generally shouldn't use a key that can close the entire game. I hit ESC thinking I'd return to menu, and it closed. Would like to see ESC return to menu, and have to close the game from there.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I like the overall appearance of this very addictive game. It took me many rounds to win at easy mode, but after a while you know where the alien ships fly and which ships are in need of destroying first.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

This is a great game, really fun, I found the audio quite grating though.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:20am

A nice first LD entry!

Pro-tip: don't put your easter egg as a screenshot ;)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59am

Lol! Easy mode gave me a wall of aliens, can't fight them XD

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:56am

This was hard. Still, I like the concept.

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:37pm

This game is really hard even in easy mode. I guess there are some problems with collision detection too. But I liked pixel art and it fit well for the theme. Nice job.

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Good game, a little simple and tough on the harder levels.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Well, yeah, hard, even in easy mode. But the game works, looks decent and is understandable, that's already a lot !

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:41pm

It was a cool little game. I like the idea of having a counted number of shots.

That said, the collision boxes were waaay to big - It was hard to gauge where was the "danger zone", where enemy ships could hit you. I think in shooters, the collision boxes should be usually a bit smaller than the sprite itself, to avoid "collisions with nothing".

Thanks for the game!

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:39pm

impossible to survive... but I like the setting, fits perfectly

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:42pm

@all Thx for the kind comments! It was my first LD and i found it very interesting and exciting :)

Btw Notice that i made Earth Defender "Hard" and "Challenging" purposely, otherwise it would have been too easy to win, because it's also a minimalist game!

ryuurei says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:08am

Trying to play on linux but I'm getting a huge stack trace with some errors stemming from pulseaudio.
http://pastebin.com/DtV3yY1y

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:25am

Awesome little game.
I try hard but still can't survive...
Anyway, good job!:p

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:08am

Like the old school difficulty of this game :) Good job!

psychopsam says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:40am

Hmm not bad but the collision detection around the ship was too large. I wanted to play more but felt a little cheated by the nice. Nice work anyway.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:59am

Very very hard !

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:20am

Congrats on your first LD entry! Usually in these types of games player hitbox is smaller than the actual sprite, so player can weave through enemy ships and projectiles and feel badass.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Cool game. Congratz!

May 2, 2013 @ 10:33pm

found it kinda hard.. duno if it was the collision detection or just me being an eejit.. prob the latter :) good job man

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:44am

A bit simplistic, though I felt like the ammo concept made it harder than it needed to be.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Impossible

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:05am

I would consider myself a hardcore gamer, and even I found Easy to be nigh impossible. It totally wasn't impossible, but yeah. At first I thought I had to kill them before they reached the left side of the screen. After I figured out that wasn't the case, I kept dying because the player's hitbox is unexpectedly big, so I almost couldn't predict what would be safe when going in the gaps to take out enemies. I eventually beat easy mode, though.

Aside from those things I think this was alright. I also like the pixelated earth you've got going on.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Funny and I got the easter egg :D Died seconds later and it restartet on medium...

fermcg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:35am

I can't stand 5 secs in hard mode :D

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I see the appeal of the looping idea (played it through on all difficulty levels [potato was too much.]), but it's not perfect:

-Aliens start spawning immediately. There should be a delay and maybe even a countdown timer before the round starts.

-All aliens spawn at the same time. Why not introduce them in smaller batches of one to five? That way there could even be a larger overall alien count.

-Enemy pattern always the same. A completely randomized appearance or multiple prearranged wave patterns would spice up the gameplay.

AlexFili says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Nice graphics, 'easy' mode still seems hard to me.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:25am

impossible -- good game tho!

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Even easy was too hard for me. Perhaps you did forget to adapt the aliens' movement speed to the time between two ticks of your program (or however you want to call it), so faster computers have faster aliens? Anyway, funny graphics! :)

Tifu says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:53am

I assume people who are saying this is too hard are thinking they have to stop every ship from getting past, once you realise there are only a small number of alien ships and they are looping it becomes a really challenging game of patience and picking the right moment to attack, and I think that works really well. The collision seems a bit sensitive, especially on the top of your ship it seemed. I managed to beat it on medium hard and potato :D Good job.

ZYXer says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Fun little game. Though you might want to rename the game "my spaceship defender", as it doesn't seem to matter that aliens hit earth all the time. ;)

File size is also quite minimalistic :D

SnoringFrog says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Had one odd bug where there were static aliens all over the screen, no ship, and no bullets (even though the sound effect for them was triggering). I returned to the menu and then couldn't select anything. It was fixed with a simple restart though.

Otherwise, easy was surprisingly difficult, but after I beat it the other two difficulties weren't quite as bad. It just took some getting used to the game to make things feel more fair.

Sestren says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:26pm

If you can shoot down a certain amount of the initial barrage, then find a safe spot, it gets a lot easier. You only lose when the aliens hit you (not the Earth as I had initially thought), and they run on a loop, so if you miss them the first time, just time your movement and get them on the next pass.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]