April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SSSS : Super Simple Smart Shooter

by Nekith - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ammos make you bigger and slower. Use them and you'll get smaller and quicker.
There's no numbers or HUD, pay attention to the blue and green stuff.
You get a score at the end. The higher it is, the better you are.

That's it. You should get the rest by playing.

If you're stuck, gently smash your keyboard. For real. It works.

Controls :
* movement : Z/W/Up, Q/A/Left, S/Down, D/Right
* aim/shoot : Mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#545Theme3.55
#572Fun2.97
#615Graphics2.95
#690Overall3.05
#732Mood2.71
#851Innovation2.74
#853Audio2.19

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

Nice ammo-mechanic! Making the enemies drop it periodically is a great move.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

I really like the colour scheme, controls are a tad sensitive in my opinion though.

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40am

Remembers me Osmos.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42am

good game + destroyable level? --> great!

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Not bad! :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Neat. Interesting ammo / life picking stuff :) I also liked that you can move freely through the field.

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Simply but funny game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Ha, pretty great. I wish you could get more than one shot per ammo, though... and the ammo disappearing right before I grabbed it a few times made it that much more frustrating.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Got a score of 87 on my first try. Nice game! Fun and the entire "pick up too much ammo and you'll get slowed down" is a good take on "minimalism". That said, you really don't get slowed down much, and I found myself mostly sitting on 2-3 ammo with no problems.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Really smooth game experience. Though I would really have liked a HUD showing my current score. When one of the enemies aimed straight at me and took several shots to kill I was happily surprised, but a bit disapointed with only receiving 1 bonus-thingy for it. :-)

Nekith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Thank all of you :)

I understand that some choices were "false good" ones and pretty much agreed with all you've written.

Maybe I'll try to write a "post mortem" telling why I make some of these choices. Not sure though.

Anyway, thanks again ! A lot. Will review your games back, of course.

yokcos700 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Scored 68 first try.
I like the concept of a game wherein collecting ammo also holds a penalty, and (although it wasn't obvious at first) where the number of lives is clearly on display.
Also, the graphics are just complex enough for one to differentiate between objects; the very definition of minimalism.

Gungnir says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:52am

I enjoyed playing it and you made some interesting design choices with the ammo and firing. Cool.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Pretty cool, liked the ammo mechanic at first, though after the first 30 seconds I felt like I was always out of ammo, and couldn't make any headway against the increasing number of enemies. Maybe boosting number of ammo given by pickups?

May 6, 2013 @ 5:30pm

While i like the game overall, i don't like to be small - it's hard to collect ammo in this state.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]