April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

hekeri

by kunzbe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey together, 'hekeri' is my approach on the ld26's topic 'minimalism'.
It's my first ludum dare entry and first web game.

Screens:
left Clean World
right Abstraction & Augmentation

Special Feature:
- whistle with SPACE, it will help you find the goal of each level
- You can move to the beat or whistle to see more...


Visit the ludumdare website of my friends and me at https://tuxli.ch/ld26/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#139Innovation3.72
#519Humor2.26
#579Mood2.85
#635Audio2.56
#769Fun2.75
#816Theme3.27
#835Overall2.91
#923Graphics2.58

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Good idea, but a bit tricky at times...

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I am not sure EXACTLY what was happening all of the time, but I got to the point where abstraction was helping. Some cool, unique elements to it that I really liked.

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Wow quite trippy!

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I enjoyed the disjointed 8-bit sound track, and whistling was a neat mechanic. I did get lost after clearing the first jump, and didn't know what to do after that :(

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40pm

That was great! Didn't really understand what was going on but really enjoyed it. Love the minimalist art that was being generated.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Confused, intrigued and mystified I am. Funky double world. Didn't get how they were exactly related, but got by anyways. :)

hnjslater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Pretty trippy

TheFudster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Not quite sure I was able to figure it out. It was really confusing trying to watch both sides.

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Very innovative! Liked the idea. A bit more work on the left side and this is a winner!

vandriver says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

man i loved the hell out of this. the whistle sound got a bit grating after playing a bit, especially on the later levels where you're constantly bouncing around on invisible platforms. you really have to spam it too much for that noise!

really damn fun, though.

f7f5 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Interesting idea but very tricky to play. I still have not managed to climb on the blue thing.

A sidenote: On Firefox I was getting only 6fps, but switching to Chrome got me to 59fps.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

i liked the idea.. and the sound.. the whistle was great.. good job man :)

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07pm

thanks for all the comments! I wasn't sure if anybody could like that :) you show me the contrary, thx

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:12pm

@whilefun: the blue boxes will push you to the left (go left :) )

anjack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I love the stick-figure animation! The gameplay is pretty unique and really interesting.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Interesting mechanic, although a bit tough to figure out (still not sure I get it entirely). The audio was cool but thee was one note that it kept hitting that reminded me of the sound a speaker makes when the audio program is glitching out :(

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Oh... first I didn't get it, then, well... still not quite... But it's a good game! :)

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Apologies for simply echoing the sentiments of so many others, but I also found this game pleasantly confusing. There is definitely potential here for a fascinating mechanic, I think it just needs a bit more polish to be made at least slightly more comprehensible. Then again, the confusion almost feels like it improves the experience somehow, so maybe perfect clarity wouldn't be suitable for what you're trying to accomplish?

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

@dreamlogician:
what I tried to accomplish is to force the player to use a confusing abstraction of a simple as possible world (left screen) as a helping mechanism to guide him through the world.

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Wow, in the beginnig, it was really confusing, but as soon as I found out what was happening, I really enjoyed it! But on the other hand, it got a bit boring after a while and the audio pretty annoying.

Jacic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Took me a minute to understand what was going on, but it was fun! And quite difficult.

dualtagh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Trippy game, I like it

saggiosoft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:01am

Very innovative. Only one flaw: it's a bit to slow on my pc.

Symmeteer says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:21am

That was wacko and quite fun!

May 20, 2013 @ 5:10am

I... I don't get it...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]