April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pure Green

by Christina Nordlander - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An abstract, turn-based platformer, created in Twine. I think I definitely hit the "minimalism" criterion. (Not sure if I hit the "fun" one.) The title is a completely irrelevant Blackadder reference.

Click "crawl" or "leap" to make the Protagonist (some sort of worm, possibly?) reach the Objective before running out of energy and while avoiding the Obstacles. (The Objective's round shape may or may not imply its identity with a certain commercially farmed tuber.)

You have only a limited number of moves to reach the Objective before you succumb to hunger. Using the ''leap'' command enables you to move 3 steps ahead, but expends energy. Jumping more than 3 times will completely deplete your energy. Contains an About page that gives more information on how to play.

Created in approximately 28 hours. I sure had fun, looking forward to playing the other contributions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#61Theme4.18
#306Innovation3.44
#306Humor2.64
#872Mood2.57
#942Graphics2.55
#975Overall2.77
#1167Fun2.21

Comments

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

Neat idea trying to "gamify" Twine like that. It could use a little more something - a narrative, some more choices, etc. But it's cool nonetheless, great job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26am

Heh, thanks! That's a more positive response than I was expecting. I was kind of torn as to how far I could go towards the minimalism requirement without making a complete troll entry.

I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Fabien Porée says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Yay, I got to the victory condition!
I really enjoyed this, it was fun working out how the game functions.

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:33pm

it's neat how you use a text box for the graphics, but it would've been better (a lot less tedious) to not have the disappear and fade in again-kind of effect between each move.

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:30am

Neat concept game with an unconventional structure. I was confused as to how to succeed; I kept running out of "energy" while having no idea how much I had or how much I was consuming. Eventually I figured it out (RTFMing helped) and got to Victory Condition. Really cool take on the theme - definitely minimalist while still being kinda fun/funky. Nice job.

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:40pm

If I understand how this was put together, I commend you for your Twee hack. It seems like a ridiculous amount of branching for what amount to one choice.

And yeah, for the "perfect run" kind of gamer, it actually was fun.

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:26pm

This a neat way to use Twine, I like it.

miotatsu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:33pm

interesting little game. definitely minimalist :p

onzephyr says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Interesting idea. definitely matches the theme. well done.

Sakuyan says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:11pm

This was so cool! Good use of the theme.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:43pm

What can i say, this reminds me of old BBS games. Loved playing those :). For what people are saying (I don't know the detail of Twine), this was quite complex to achieve, regardless of the apparent simplicity.

Yakka says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:47pm

I'm impressed that you made this with Twine! Very interesting and... minimalist :D

cfloydtweets says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:19pm

This is a great use of Twine to make something innovative. I couldn't complete it, but I love the concept!

alts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:47pm

This is a fascinating inversion of Twine's "place" in games, and when paired with the theme really harkens back to Hypercard. Really excellent work.

mildmojo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Hah! Interesting use of Twine. I beat it on the first go 'round, but replayed it to push its limits. It's definitely the kind of game that would benefit from lots of hidden tricks or combos to add depth within the frame you've built. Maybe some branching by hopping down a hole or climbing a vine. =)

atraxgames says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Very original use of twine, and i liked the "endings" they are short but very well written

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:50pm

=) I didn't knew Twine, your game introduced me to it :P. Thank you.

You were right when you said the game hit the spot with the theme.

May 12, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Very interesting use of Twine. I didn't really understand how the stamina worked.

MrShoestore says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:57pm

nice use of twine. 5 stars on innovation.

fishbrain says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Haha! Excellent, inventive entry!

May 14, 2013 @ 12:19am

@Alex Camilleri:

I actually used two different stats for "crawl" stamina and "leap" stamina (because, well, I'm lazy and still pretty new to this Twine thing). If you run out of "crawl" stamina but have some leaps left, you can still make it to the end.

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Minimal! Has some gameplay to it, but rather short lived (I lost once, then won). I guess it could be turned into an actual action platformer/jump and run game.

Maple says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:49am

Nice. I got the win condition with a few runs of trial and error. I'm glad there were lose conditions such as leaping too much or crawling too much. If I were to critique anything, it would be the time between each move. I'm mot sure if that is a limit of Twine, but yeah, I thought it was a tad annoying that you couldn't crawl, for example, as fast as you could click.

Troll entry or not, there were actually some nice ideas in this. Good job. =p

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]