April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TOO MANY DISTRACTIONS

by kbm0 - Jam Entry

Minimalism is all about reducing distractions.

The less noise and unnecessary things around you, the more you get done.

In "TOO MANY DISTRACTIONS", you try to get your work done while all around you, distractions start happening.


Instructions:

Get your work done by using the keyboard (hover your mouse over it) and filling the progress bars.
The more distraction is happening , the less productive your work is.
Try to figure out how to reduce the distractions (noisy red objects) or else your distraction meter (bottom bar) will reach critical levels and you will lose focus.

People: Just me
Tools: Construct 2 (HTML5, JS), Photoshop, Audacity

Website + Contact:
http://www.konstantinkopka.com

Audio Attributions:
http://freesound.org/people/Thirsk/sounds/120963/
http://freesound.org/people/Thirsk/sounds/121032/
http://freesound.org/people/industrimuseum/sounds/120484/
http://freesound.org/people/Nathan_Lomeli/sounds/79203/
http://freesound.org/people/klankbeeld/sounds/180156/
http://freesound.org/people/gcmax/sounds/123375/
http://freesound.org/people/fins/sounds/133430/
http://freesound.org/people/fins/sounds/146727/
http://freesound.org/people/x.3d.gime/sounds/54041/
http://freesound.org/people/amthomas101/sounds/175831/
http://freesound.org/people/Zermonth/sounds/116636/
http://freesound.org/people/ejfortin/sounds/49678/
http://freesound.org/people/ejfortin/sounds/49693/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#26Humor(Jam)3.70
#35Innovation(Jam)3.89
#56Overall(Jam)3.74
#64Fun(Jam)3.57
#64Graphics(Jam)4.09
#73Mood(Jam)3.66
#82Audio(Jam)3.60
#92Theme(Jam)3.81

Comments

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

It even made me a bit angry... Well done

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

This was a pretty amusing entry. It looks amazing, and plays well for the rather simplistic concept it has. Looking at some of the distractions the player has to deal with, what the heck kind of work are they doing? Really, the game-

Ok uh I should get back to work and stop playing all these games.

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:00am

This is a brilliant simulation of my (I daresay most people's) every day. Polished, smart and fun. Great work, wonderfully meta :)

disease says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

Out of the 20 or so games I've played so far for this LD, this is my favorite. The concept of making a game of being distracted at work is genius - and amazingly the game itself is simple, fun and extremely attractive.

ColdBrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

Really vitally! Cool!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:25am

The distractions were frustrating to get rid of... true to life! :) Good use of the challenge theme.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Fun and simple. Could be a bit longer though. Great job.

Mago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Interesting idea, this game make a great distraction in work :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Amazing ! Extra good stuff !

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Great job! It seems real life haha

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Oh god that was so fun. Great job. I like how minimalistic your game is. It entertained me a lot and the graphics are good too. You have found good sounds in freesound. Overall good game.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Beautiful. All work is done! Very clever.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Nice innovative concept and GREAT execution. Very pleasing visuals and it really did feel like I was being horribly distracted. JUST LET ME HOVER MY MOUSE OVER THIS KEYBOARD, YOU STUPID UNHINGED WINDOW AND ODD LITTLE ELECTRIC DEVICE THAT IS WAY TOO CLOSE TO MY WORK SPACE!!!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06pm

A very interesting idea! I'm straight missed the good old modem after your game! Steep concept!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Realistic distraction simulator! Getting things done was hard just like in real life. Good Job! Great concept and implementation!

brookman32k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I like your approach to the theme very much. It is a simple, minimalistic game, but comes with nice retro graphics. Also, working in a bif office environment, this entry somehow mimics my work day... Just get sh*t done and don't get distracted ;) I like it very much. Tom

enzo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Great game. Everything comes together so nicely, the crisp graphics, the sound, the electrical... device (what is that by the way? I want one!)
One of the best games I've played.

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Really nice!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23pm

At first I wasn't sure what I was meant to do but after a few attempts I really liked it. Great idea.

Cake&Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:23am

I actually played this while I was supposed to be doing work. It was a fantastic distraction. Also super funny, two people were watching me play and we all died. :) Looks very pretty, great job!

sharbelfs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32am

I hate the modem. But I love the idea.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:00am

Great Game... remembers me for my job :P

GFM says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:19am

Why won't you 'guys' let me do my work? >_<
xD

I really liked this.
It felt like I was in a office with everything distracting me.

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Awesome idea for a game! It was pretty frustrating, I'd love to play with more controls as well (incorporating keyboard strokes or something might make it even crazier). Great work!

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Cool idea... what on earth is that electrical device on the right? Dude, forget whatever you're typing, you seem to have a matter generator on your desk, patent that and make millions!
Game seemed to crash my browser (opera) when I won =/

Pixelulsar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:46am

Cool game. It was satisfying to get all my work done.

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:11am

I have, as you say, too many LD distractions :)
Good work.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Awesome work! It's kind of like an OCD simulator. I think you should make the distraction meter go down a little faster when all distractions are clear. I eventually won after a few trys.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Excellent... I am always trying to explain to those around me that I need peace and quiet and no distractions, not even nice ones like a PM from someone... Very Good Job!!

glbs says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Pretty difficult and intense, really funny, nice game!

f7f5 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:50pm

What's all this crap on my desk, and why can't I just lock the window shut? :)
Excellent idea, had a lot of fun playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]