April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Miximal

by Cheshyr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***MOUSE ISSUES BUG FIX: You can Adjust Mouse Sensitivity in game: '+' or '.' to increase and '-' or ',' to decrease.

Instructions: Red Buttons perform major actions, such as opening doors, replaying the active sounds in a given room, and saving that room's sound settings. Blue Buttons are used to enable and disable sounds. FPS Controls.

What will you choose to keep?
-----
Edit: It appears I was not clear enough on the game mechanics. This section is a bit SPOILERish, so don't read it if you want to figure it out on your own. Pressing the red button plays the active tracks for that room, simultaneously. After disabling various tracks using the blue buttons, press the red button in that room to play the remaining active tracks. In the end, you can only have one track active per room. Complete this for all three rooms to proceed. In the non-LD version, I will have an appropriate tutorial section to teach the mechanic. My apologies for any excess frustration.
-----

I chose to go with the traditional and literary definitions of minimalism: removing the unnecessary, and leaving the narrative blank so the player can fill in the details.

I attempted builds for all platforms, but I don't have a Linux or OSX machine, so I'm trusting Unity3D to get it right.

I'm no musician, so it's likely not every mix will be pleasant.

There are a couple known bugs, and a complete lack of a tutorial. It's easy to replay though, so feel free to try different settings. Nothing is randomized, so if you find a mix you really like, it's very easy to share with others.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Audio3.65
#405Innovation3.31
#452Mood3.02
#652Graphics2.91
#664Theme3.43
#674Overall3.06
#839Humor1.86
#1039Fun2.42

Comments

StuStutheBloo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

I like this take on the theme, and the fact you're making your own minimalistic piece(but in an interesting way).

ecool377 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

awesome

CTATZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

Love the concept!

Thomas Bowker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

I managed to 'solve' two of the sections before realising what I had to do.

Otherwise nice!

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

Very nice concept

mikebolt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

Really cool, I like the way the theme was interpreted..

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Perhaps this could have been a puzzle game of some sort? match the tracks with the right tempo and genre perhaps? If you got all three tracks right, open the door?

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I'm interested in audio mixing, so was pleased to see how this worked out. Nicely tied into the theme too.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

That was quite interesting would love to see some more.
The controls on my end were quite annoying, the walking would slide too much and the mouse would turn way too slow

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

i like how it ended. cool music. this was a nice well put together game.

phnxphire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Cool idea and nicely executed.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Difficult to figure out what to do (even after reading the spoiler), but ultimately, it's a great looking game. Nicely done!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Thanks for the feedback so far! I've updated the Notes to include Instructions and Caveats. I'm glad to hear that people are enjoying the game. :-)

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

Great idea, but why not fix the terrible controls before submitting? Just that small issue made it very difficult to enjoy.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41am

@gilmore606 Can you clarify about the controls? For me, the controls were fine. If they didn't work I wouldn't have submit it that way. Some people mentioned mouse sensitivity. Is there something else?

deathray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27am

I really like octagon-shaped rooms and pushing buttons, but I couldn't understand this game.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06am

Mouse issues should now be resolved. Sorry for the issues.

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20am

Yeah! I did it :D haha it was hard but finally could escape. Really nice concept.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

This is great. Liked the narrative. The graphics were good. Great on theme. Music was awesome too. Controls got stuck a few times for me, but no biggie. Great work.

MatrixBai says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34am

Solve puzzle is my weak point...
The game is very good.

alvivar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

I love what i chose. thanks!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26am

Fun stuff, I really liked the resulting music too :).

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

Wow, I didn't expect that one.

At the beginning it took me some time to get what you meant by "remove noise", but after experimenting a bit, I got the idea. I think that it would've worked much better if the player was able to turn on/off the samples and hear the changes in real time, instead of having to press the red button again.

shines says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

Really enjoyed the concept. It may be helpful to clarify in your instructions you need to re-press the red button to get a new sample. I clicked the wall buttons to try to make a change happen and the music shut off. Took me a few tries to realize the button pressing and music turning off was coincidental.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Thanks again for the great feedback! Found the glitch with the controls and fixed it. All the other suggestions are wonderful, and they'll go into a non-LD version. Enjoy your music. :-)

SamoojaMies says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I beat the game. Not sure how I did it tho :P. Nice job!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Took me a moment to figure out what was going on, but that's really cool! This feels so much like something out of Myst.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

SPOILERS: @SamoojaMies thereisnorightanswerthegoalistoonlyhaveonesoundenabledforeachroomwhenyouleaveitplaysbackthethreesoundsyouleftactivethepointistobuildashortmixoflooptracksthatyoufindinteresting

NicoJaujou says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Interesting twist, I expected some kind of puzzle and it gave me something special about keeping...I liked this surprise1

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

great :D
(minimalistic comment)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

An interesting idea :)

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Tough to get it right, but great game overall... fun! love the quality of the sound clips

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Couldn't figure out how to affect the mix, pressed all the buttons and never felt like I knew what the game wanted.

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Take me some time and the spoiler to understand it but it was worth it ;)

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Cool idea, but as others have mentioned I would have liked to hear the changes in real time.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Thanks. I'll make sure to get that into a non-competition build. :-)

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Kind of hard to grasp what to do in this. The idea seemed interesting, though.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Good concept

rubapi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Really great concept!

richtx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:01am

Love the puzzle aspect, but was a bit lost at first. Good game.

Komradus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56am

I really like the idea of mixing the audio but would be nice to be able to tell what the buttons that I leave do before I finalize it.

Magewalkr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

ahahha it was really fun though I had no idea how to open the door... I spent my time playing with the music really well done

May 1, 2013 @ 4:40am

Neat mechanic - playing with sound is not done nearly enough in most puzzle design.
That said, I felt it was underutilized here. It would have been interesting to ask the player to match pitches or tempos, or create certain combinations of sounds. Might be worth exploring further. In any case, great job!

May 1, 2013 @ 7:31am

I figured out how to make all the lights over that first door green, but I never got the door to open and overall was very confused as to what I was supposed to do.

I did however spend a lot of time just listening to and experimenting with various track combinations. I kind of just wanted to get into the groove, you know? The beats were fairly entertaining all on their own.

l3dx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:57am

Cool game

juaxix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:17am

Very good job with graphics, shadows, lights and sounds, you should gamify the game a little more, like adding goals, other people and more feedback, i liked it

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:15am

Interesting concept. I was unsure of what to do at first, but it was fun in the end. It looks great, too!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Love the audio and fits the theme really well, nice job!

quantumryan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29pm

It took me a while to figure out to only pick one per room. Other than that, I enjoyed this a lot.

May 2, 2013 @ 4:10am

Unique take on the theme and solid work on the visuals to make them descriptive enough while ensuring they remain minimal in style.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:15am

Good game. Congratz!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Like the concept... couldn't see how there was a "right" answer, other than what happened to be preferred. Escaped after a few minutes.... very short runtime in total.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Nice interpretation of the theme, 5 stars for the music!

Colapsydo says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:16am

Nice play with music loops.
The mood is nice, since few story elements are given, we can imagine the one we like.

Spiridios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:07am

For some reason, when I played from Firefox there was no audio. Chrome worked.... Which is odd, since it's the unity player not the browser doing the work. :/ Liked the interpretation. The game was a bit short and could possibly use a bit more depth, but I liked that you get to hear the combination at the end.

Cheshyr says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Thanks for the excellent feedback. I agree there is a need for more content. Due to the 48 hour limit, I prioritized the mechanic over almost everything else. I'll be sure to add more content to the non-LD version of the game. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]