April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MIN(Ball)

by cahman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalistic puzzle platformer.
Get the ball to the Goal.
Try to get the LOWEST time and FEWEST switches.
Instructions are in-game, but the only keys are space and r.

This game relies heavily on color. I'm guessing it will be quite difficult if you are color blind. Sorry...

Tools I used:
Unity
Gimp
Paint.net
LMMS
Audacity
Chronolapse
Bfxr

TimeLapse : http://youtu.be/MtgIQOxJKc4
By the Numbers: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/01/minball-by-the-numbers/

This was my first Ludum Dare. Made a game, had some fun, learned a few things, and ate WAY too many tater tots. The perfect weekend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#261Fun3.33
#274Innovation3.48
#437Overall3.28
#651Mood2.78
#690Humor2.05
#761Audio2.35
#790Theme3.30
#1135Graphics2.24

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04am

Haha that was pretty fun!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

This was really enjoyable. I didn't think I was gonna actually finish it but got hooked. Good job!

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

very difficult game, but interesting

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Cool game. Took me a while to get my head around it (maybe because it's very late, and I'm tired). But once I got the hang of the mechanics, it all worked out.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08am

Quite innovative! Good job!

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

Fun idea and nice execution. Maybe the art should have been more "subtle" (specially the colors).

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Really cool idea but execution is lacking. The difficulty ramps up too quickly, the player needs a bit more time to wrap their heads around the mechanic and the colors are a bit too chaotic. There is much promise here though.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Clever idea!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

Pretty fun and minimal ;) Great job!

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

Pros: Excellent idea and gameplay, very fun! =)
Cons: Graphics was a bit lacking. *Argh*

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:55am

@All -- Thanks for the positive feedback! Trying to make graphics that were simultaneously colorful and vibrant, visually appealing, and minimal was quite challenging!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Tough! Would like to be able to cycle before game starts just to see the order.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36pm

This is quite an original idea, and some of the puzzles took me a bit to get my head around!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Cool. Just in my sweet spot between "challenging" and "frustrating". I was just about to rage quit but then not only did I beat a level, but also got the "Kudos" screen - nice touch with the global rankings :) Good concept, works for me, thou it would be nice to have three separate buttons for the three colours. And the graphics are a bit lacking in polish, as some have already pointed out. But still, very good entry! Kudos!

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

@Exclamation Mark -- That's quite impressive! After this many people have played, anyone hitting the kudos has definitely earned it.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44pm

It was hard, but not rage-quitting hard. All in all a fun game.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:26am

Thanks for checking out my game! Thats a good idea about a line to show where the ball will shoot. Your game is a lot of fun! Clever mechanic, challenging but in a good way well done.

Alec Von Arx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:07am

Awesome game! Really cool idea, would love to see a MINBall 2 or extended level pack or something! Also, nice potato haha similar incorporation to mine.

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

@Alec - Thanks for positive comments! I'm planning on polishing it up some more and making a level editor. Oh, and rewriting some of the source (it's gross). From there, who knows!

Dabuuker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Interesting mechanic and fun to play. I feel like it might be better if every color had a dedicated button, not sure though.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Beautiful concept, a very fun game! :)

johnfn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37am

What would make this game really good is if you mapped 1, 2 and 3 to turn on an individual color and turn of all others. I don't really like space because I'm never sure which color is about to turn on. Still it's good, a nice idea.

cahman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:11am

Hey guys! Thanks for the feedback! My thought was a single key to cycle R->G->B would be "more minimalistic," but I'll try a dedicated color version after the compo to see how it plays.
Cheers,
Cahman

johnfn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:44am

Sometimes it's okay to sacrifice a little theme for a little sanity ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]