April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Neverending bricks

by michail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Classic arkanoid game, but with the touch of infinity. Survive this brick madness using up to 8 extra balls - things can quickly get out of control. You don't lose when you are out of balls, but you lose if any of bricks touches the bottom.
Controls: mouse
Developed using HTML5 Canvas + Javascript.
All graphics and sounds created by myself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#210Audio3.29
#367Fun3.19
#557Humor2.22
#639Mood2.79
#652Graphics2.91
#698Overall3.04
#878Innovation2.70
#994Theme3.05

Comments

ElScootro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Fun game! I personally prefer keyboard controls for this sort of thing, I'm always getting out of control with the mouse. I hope you'll continue developing this one, it definitely has potential!

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Good arkanoid style game!

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Pretty fun spin on breakout... but it got kinda stale fast.... I wanna see more powerups than just extra boll. Arkanoid had tons of em.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

rank: potato.
lol.

michail says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Yeah, you are right on powerups - if I would have more time, they would definitely be here! But, on the other hand - without them it is more minimalistic :)

JohnBroadley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Great concept, I'm not very good at this, but a great game nontheless!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

That was fun!

deeJayUA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Great idea!!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Neat twist on a classic

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

lol, I like the idea a lot; and I really love how foreboding the music is at the beginning! I just wish extra balls came a little more often. I kept losing them when I got a 7-10 split (so to speak) and could only save one of them. oh yeah, and I got a noob rating lol! =D

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

neat little breakout game

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22pm

I like your approach to breakout. The game looks polished. The moments you get extra balls are rather random, as the extra balls make the game much easier.

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34am

I had to check this out as I made a brick breaking game myself. Good job. I like the idea of the bricks scrolling down like that.

Per says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Fun game with nice music :)

sanojian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40pm

A fine version of Arkanoid and fun too. Not sure what it has to do with the theme, tho.

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Nice work! Takes a classic concept and gives it new rules. Also, very nice music!

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Interesting how making something infinite tends to simplify it. Good insight.

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Please expand this, it's only fun for a little while!

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Fun and very clean - the graphics are simple but appealing, and the gameplay works well. Not a lot to do other than bounce balls around, but a solid entry and fun to play (even on my trackpad, which increased the degree of difficulty significantly). I liked the background music a lot.

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:05am

Good idea. Infinite games are always fun and great time wasters :) The paddle is a bit hard to control on my trackpad, so I would like to see keyboard support too.

michail says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:35am

Thanks for comments! Especially for the tip about keyboard support - next time I will try to support more input methods :)

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:51am

Not the most original idea, but executed very very well. Very polished and most of all, fun. I played it for quite a while.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Simply fun.

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:39am

Simple and fun... Good job!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Really innovative approach to freshen-up the old Breakout/Arkanoid formula.

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Nice take on a classic! The bouncing is not affected by speed of the colliding object, so it is harder to control but more predictable.

simvig says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Very interesting twist on the gameplay, but I found that you can't really control the ball well enough to do anything about the descending blocks.

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:29am

Pretty fun twist of Breakout/Arkanoid. The background music was really good.

messiano says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:37am

Not a fun of Arkanoid, but the extra twist made this very fun. Nice music too.

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Cool game. The ongoing level is a cool mechanic for an arcade game. Great job!

davidwparker says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Cool breakout style. I wish there were powerups.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]