April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Defense

by Xelanon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare game. The scoring system works by giving you 1 point every time you hit an Enemy(Materialists) and taking away a point every time you miss(so you must be a minimalist with your ammo). You can use the minimalism painting at the bottom of the screen(known as Defense in the game) to slow down the Materialists. Use the Defense to your advantage. The graphics aren't amazing or even good, but I think the gameplay is extremely fun. Thanks in advance for playing my game and hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#322Humor2.62
#713Theme3.38
#786Fun2.73
#953Audio1.97
#1003Innovation2.47
#1045Overall2.68
#1131Mood2.19
#1279Graphics1.95

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

It's kinda... Crappy and awesome at the same time!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32am

Aha, I didn't understand the comment below before I played it. Nice job!

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37am

Thanks for making a web game! It felt a bit awkward having the cannon so far away from the thing it was defending, but it did make the game different from the typical Space Invaders clone. Slowing down the rate of fire would probably be a good tweak. It seemed like you could just spam the space bar to handle just about anything.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Simple game but yet very fun. Well done !
(I'm not a big fan of the negative point when you miss) (and btw, I love the first comment xD kind of true about the graphics, it still is a fun game)

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

Pretty fun! The graphics may not be amazing, but they have a certain charm to them. If you're thinking of developing this one further in the future, maybe add different enemy types (shapes)? I think you could set up something of a trade-off between trying to hit difficult targets (risking points) and letting them through.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

Simple little defense game; the mix of colored blocks were a little distracting, though. :(

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00am

great graphic and audio

nurabsal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

tried a few times but the game wouldn't load?

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Interesting, but distracting art.
I Like the Wall Moving Mechanic, it's a nice, minimal touch.

Siewart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I like how you can place the wall, nice addition to the simple game play! :)

Homletmoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54pm

A nice idea, but when I realised there was no firing rate limit, it became very easy.

Cosine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Game was cool. Thought that the wall could slow down more.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Unique game, at least for the art "style" :D

Gameplay wise, hit detection was nice, but don't really like negative score for missing shots. Wave progression felt nice too.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Well, that was a very literal interpretation of minimalism.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Simple but funny, good game

acro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:54pm

The wall placement and slowing down is an interesting twist and works against you by making it harder to gauge enemy speed, so actually really clever. The little dudes twitchy walking is also cool! There's no music playing - but the jar version has a 30mb wav in it - for future entries you should use a different format for the audio.

Xelanon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I just deleted the wav. sorry I forgot I had that in there. Thanks for reminding me.

Destroyer40k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:46pm

The game's very much fun and well balanced once one gets over the loss of points for missing. I personally would've put the cannon control on the mouse and the wall cantrol to left/right, since on later waves you can't alternate between different sides on screen and are forced to shoot inaccurately to get to the other side on time. But it was real fun and minimal (as the theme suggested).

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:01pm

I love that you slow down the materialists with a minimalist painting. It's like they're stopping to try to understand it before moving on and attacking the town hall!

f7f5 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Sorry, can't run it:
$ java -jar Minimal\ Defense.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: minimalism/Container : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:634)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:277)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:73)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:212)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:321)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:266)
at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:266)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:56)

lpcustom says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Unique controls. I would like to see a larger game like this.

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I really liked the mechanics - really simple and yet combined in a novel way! To make the point/ammo correlation feel stronger, I'd think about starting with a set amount of ammo and dying when you run out. Nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]