April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Coder

by RealyUniqueName - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**Complete story mode (11 levels) to get "Hardcore coder" Ludum Dare badge! (postcompo version, badge will be given in 24 hours)**

**Do not match colors, fill the lines as in tetris**

"Coder" is abstract explanation of programmers job.

The sense of the game is to refactor your project to keep it minimalistic.

It's like tetris reverted. Move bottom blocks to make falling figures fill lines. Blocks in the bottom - your project, figures - features you need to implement.

Use arrow keys to refactor project, hit SPACE to drop feature.

HINT: If you're near the deadline just drop all features (hold space)

Tools:
Language: Haxe 2.10
Libs: NME 3.5.5, Actuate 1.61, StablexUI
Graphics: Gimp
Audio: Aduacity

How to build:
You can build to any platform available for NME, but sounds provided only in mp3 for flash target (other targets will be muted)
I'm using Haxe 2.10 in Ubutnu, but Haxe 3 should be fine.
NME: http://nme.io
Actuate: $ haxelib install actuate
Latest version of StablexUI is available here: https://github.com/RealyUniqueName/StablexUI
After tools are set, run:
$ nme build flash

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#76Humor3.53
#197Innovation3.62
#217Fun3.40
#221Audio3.26
#231Overall3.52
#309Mood3.19
#416Graphics3.24
#1022Theme3.00

Comments

axcho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30am

Ha, I'm delighted to see someone actually make a game about refactoring. I have to say, though, the blocks being different colors really threw me off - I was trying to match colors the entire time my first try until I realized it was probably more like Tetris. As far as being minimal, keeping all the blocks the same color would make a lot of sense and also make the game more understandable. Another thing that would help is to make sure the player gets a successful line-clear early on, so they know what they're going for. I wasn't really sure what "success" would like look at first, and I ended up guessing wrong. If you have time, it might be worth prototyping a version of this where blocks disappear when four or more of the same color are touching.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

Thanks for detailed comment. I'm not sure if LD48 rules allows to modify such things after compo is finished.

aduros says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

Loved the voice overs!

Zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

really neat idea! does a great job of evoking the frustration (and fun!) of refactoring

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

RealyUniqueName: you can always make a post-compo version that doesn't enter the competition itself.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

Oh hey, I think I recall seeing you talking about this game on Twitter. I'm glad you finished it because it's amazing. I definitely did not expect a "Tetris derivative" to be so much fun and refreshing. The mechanic, the story, the voiceover and the execution were all top notch. Definitely one of my favorites this LD48 so far!

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

Really interesting take on the Tetris concept, very fun to play actually ! And it's not often you hear a voice-over in a flash game... :)

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

Good fun. I agree with the previous comment about the colours being a little misleading. But overall I enjoyed it.

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

This is such an unique idea and a great combination with a known game concept! I think this would work on a touch screen very well. I had much fun to play it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Great idea. Fun game! Tight controls.

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

I like this idea. It was pretty fun.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Okay this is very good to play !

zinfandel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Entirely agree with the first comment - I was trying to match colors for a while too.
I like the concept a lot, might want to start off with smaller levels/slower speed.
Great job overall!

mushbuh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

confusing at first but once I figured it out it was cool

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:10am

It isn't really minimal, but it's a good idea. I agree with others, the colors not meaning anything threw me off. It seems pretty well polished.

daniel2357 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:05am

Quite Hard. Nice sounds ( especially at the ending ). i liked the game :).

tcstyle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:37am

Great idea. The inversed Tetris mechanic works pretty well. The story is also pretty funny. Sound totally fits the game.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Love the concept, very cool and minimalist ;)

May 1, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Has a real polished feel. Interesting to see a new take on a classic. That it's a variation threw me and it took me a while to figure it out (that you only need to fill a line regardless of color). Great effort!

marnaouf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Really awesome take on the theme and fun game.

Morgawr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:24pm

I'm sorry I cannot play this game because it's in Flash (I don't have Flash). Not your fault of course...

just wanted to drop by to say that I thought the image, from the preview, looked like a penis. Cheers!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Ok, i've deployed to html5. Hope you'll enjoy it.

Never thought my finger can look like a penis. I'll keep screenshot as is, maybe it encourage more people to try my game :)

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Nicely frustrating ^^. Good job.

kyru says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Neat game, I like the presentation and "story" of it and it's a fun take on a well known game.

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Great, original concept. Liked the style. And the audio was funny. Nice job!

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Hilarious! Loved the sounds and Finger UI transitions :-)
Both modes were quite hard but a very fun and interesting twist on an old (but still awesome) game idea!

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Took a while to figure out what to do, as I was mistakenly trying to group the colours into blocks. A unique take on a familiar theme.

Nambew says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:06am

I find the concept interesting, all the taunt during play are great for the mood and the graphic fit well. I find it a bit difficult, but you have a good game.

Madball says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Now I'm thinking you just made the best advertisment of you game... :-B
The game was actually very fun. Here is one complaint though: on later levels the line disappearing effect was in way sometimes.

Colapsydo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:18pm

It takes some time to break the Tetris automatism.
Cool idea and the game is well polished.

goerp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:58pm

What a great idea. I actually like this more than tetris, there is more strategy.
And the background story is funny and adds someting to the game.

I'm not sure if there would be a copyright issue with tetris, but I whink this would be a great game for tablet or phone. But then it would have to respond to touch (you move the layer where your finger is).

And then you could add maybe some more faces of the boss where he gets angries all the time.

May 3, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Yeah, i'm already making a tablet version ;)

bvanschooten says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:01am

Very interesting take on the Tetris theme. The presentation looks good, only I think having the instructions permanently inside the playing area does not look so pretty.

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Probably the best example of code refactory i've ever seen in my entire life. Pretty fun to play too. GOod job!

May 6, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very interesting idea! I think the game is hard, maybe it needs some balancing. I played it 3 times, and in all of them i could get only one line eliminated, with the time almost over.

May 6, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Post-compo version was balanced. It was beated several times by different people. I'm satisfied with current difficulty :)

henrykun says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:21am

Clever idea!, I wouldn't imagined it, I like it. Btw you used the same framework I used, it's nice. Grat work!.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:17pm

nice alternative tetris like, it's fun to play

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Well as a Tetris derivative, I'm going to have to compare it to the real deal. Tetris wins. Here is why:

On slow speeds the game is too easy as there is enough time to move every row optimally (this is partly true for Tetris as well), but when the speed rises above a certain, not that high, level, planning flies out of the window and a frantic disaster of a defeat ensues.

This is because to succeed in refactoring one would have to utilize the core mechanic which, in theory, offers limitless reconstruction of the current terrain, to a high degree.

Attemts at this are foiled by the keyboard controls which add another layer of complexity to the game.
You'll have to think about the incoming block, the current situation and the current position of the selection, in a too small of a time frame. This is made worse by the fact that every new block spawns into a random position with no indicator of said position.

So, there are too many variables to think about when time is nigh and one of them is even based on luck.

In the original Tetris one only needs to think about the next tile and to which positions it fits on the relatively slowly changing terrain.
This data can be attained with a swift glance and maintained vigilance over the terrain and speed, allowing for a more flexible difficulty curve and thus a more enjoyable experience for me.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:54pm

An here are a few suggestions to boot:

To combat the issue raised by keyboard controls try the mouse. Dragging and dropping a row would work especially well on a touch screen, but it would significantly boost the speed at which a player can react on a mouse as well.

Gamemodes based on maximal refactoring, rather than block usage, timelimit or increased speed, would also help.

May 8, 2013 @ 5:25am

I completely agree with you about complexity. But with mouse controls game in current state becomes too easy. I just had no time to think about implementing smoother complexity curve.
However, i like the core mechanic and i'm trying to adopt it for mobile platforms and to fix complexity issues )

Sestren says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:16am

I like the unique spin on such a well-known game. A lot of fun to play. Great job!

klianc09 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Really great game I liked the sound effects, but as others already said, there is a problem with the controls. A simple solution would be, to be able to move the incoming block left and right, or to be able to move all the rows at once, this would make the game much easier to control.

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Cool and unique twist to the already familiar Tetris gameplay. The game is very addictive plus the voiceovers were really nice.

HD408 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Made me laugh, what a hilarious way to describe the game mechanics! Instant fives for everything.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Nice concept, really simple but good idea

May 20, 2013 @ 1:53am

Solid entry, liked the voice acting touch, reverse tetris was fun though the lose conditions I don't think were always clear. Still, had a bit of fun with it.

JonRB says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:10am

The instructions weren't terribly helpful as to what I was supposed to be doing but I got the hang of it, and soon loved it. Spent more time playing it than I expected, great job!
T'is a bold man who uses vocals, but I think it paid off!

May 20, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Ooh it took me a moment to get what I am supposed to do. The colors were confusing because they didn't matter at all. Pretty good game, the instructions were not terribly clear though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]